Easter excitement around the greens in Mayo



In the Stableford competition sponsored by Lawnmower and Tool Hire, Castlebar, Padraig Joyce was the winner of the gents’ section with a score of 38pts, Dermot McMahon came second with Martin Boyle third. The ladies’ was won by Kitty O’Connor with Geraldine Kilgallon second and Mary Lavin third. The category prize went to Catherine McNulty.


Shannon Burke was the winner of the ladies’ competition in Ballinrobe, with Louise Cribben second and Phyllis Lee in third place. Marian Walsh came fourth with the first nine prize going to Rose Dooley who also hit a hole in one on the third and Helen Healy was the top scorer on the back nine. The gents’ competition was won by Brendan Sheridan, with Paul Keane second and Eddie Killeen third.


The Hookers and Slicers competition last Friday was won by Val O’Horan, with Clive Gilmartin second and John Forkin third. In the Stableford competition on Sunday Enda Jones score of 44pts (back nine ) was enough to win out with John Forkin in second place on 44pts, with Gerry O’Mahony third on 43pts. A special Olympics classic was held last Saturday and the team of Paul Cawley, Marie Forde, Martin McElligot and Paddy O’Donnell were the winners with a score of 100pts.


Cian Henry was the winner of the junior section of the Stableford competition in Ballyhaunis last weekend. The ladies’ event was won by Kung Fanning with a score of 44pts, Siobhán Herr came second on 41pts and Josie Folliard third one point further back. In the gents’ section David Murphy was the winner finishing on 45 points, Tom Fanning was second two points further back, with Shay Walsh finishing third.


Damien Murphy was the winner of the club competition last Sunday with a score of 40pts, he finished four points ahead of Brendan Cafferkey in second place. The front nine prize was claimed by Cathal Church with Liam Power the back nine winner. In the ladies Ulster Bank competition Delia Garvin was the winner with 38pts, Rita Walsh came second and Margaret Cannon third.


Ilish McGing was the winner of the ladies club competition last weekend, with a score of 35. She finished just ahead of Anne Horkan in second place and Mary Glynn in third. In the men’s club team competition Roger Towey’s team were the winners, Sean Smith’s side was second with Michael Kilcourse’s team third. In the weekend gents single competition Paddy Duffy was the winner with 46pts, Padraig Corrigan came second and Michael Flynn third.


Claremorris Golf Club will hold its annual AmAm on Monday May 2, Tuesday May 3, Wednesday May 4, Friday May 6 and Saturday May 7. The cost of entering a team is €120. Any combination is allowed. Re-entry costs €15 per person. For further information contact Chris or Pat at 094 9371527.


Congratulations to club president Neil O'Donnell on winning the Nevins Bar and Restaurant, Tiernaur, sponsored competition on Sunday with a score of 41pts. Fergus Rothwell finished second on 40pts with Patsy Noone in third place on 39pts.

Next weekend's Stableford competition is sponsored by Rocky's Bar, Castlebar. On Monday May 2 (Bank Holiday ) a three ball scramble, sponsored by Sheridan Electric, Castlebar, will be held. It is open to ladies and gents.


In the Dick Crowley Cup, Philip Irwin was the winner last weekend with a score of 66 playing off 21, Padraig Quinn came home in second place with a score of 68 with Jimmy Biesty third on 69. The ladies’ competition was won by Patrica Feeney, with Jeanette Hynes coming home in second place.


With the Golfer of the Year competitions on the horizon, there was a palpable sense of relief in Carrowholly last weekend when it was confirmed that a recent press release about the change of par at Westport had in fact been an April Fool’s Day story. Although club PRO Paul O'Neill has a reputation for posting stories this time of the year, most notable the visit of Tiger Woods on Captain's Day back in 2009, he is pleased to confirm that the Golfing Union of Ireland has not issued any directive as appeared in the April 1 article.


Page generated in 0.0751 seconds.