Captain’s drive in around the county


Last weekend’s Stableford competition was won by Vinny Gibbons who shot a score of 35pts, his scoring on the back nine was enough for him to claim the win, Michael Neary pushed him all the way also finishing up on 35pts, with Stephen Minogue only one shot further back in third place. The ladies’ competition was won by Kathleen Minogue who shot a score of 39pts, with Mary B Prendergast five points back in second place. Third place was taken by Mary Conlon who finished on 33pts. The three person scramble was won by the team of Marie Flanagan, Margaret Walsh, and Geraldine Kilgallon. Second place was taken by the trio of Mary Neary, Mike Neary, and Bob Leggett, with third place going to the team of Seamus Cleary, Brenda Cleary, and Vinny Gibbons. The annual captain’s drive in is coming closer and will take place on March 27.


The third round of the Spring League last weekend saw the team of Jonathan Doherty, Colm McLoughlin, PJ Ruddy, and Mary Lowery take the win with a score of 52.2 nett over the 18 holes. The final of the league will be down for decision this Sunday March 13, and the draw for the tee times has been placed on the noticeboard. Tee off times start at 8.45am and players are asked to be ay their starting point at least 10 minutes before their tee off time. The presentation of prizes for the final and plate competition will be made in the clubhouse at 2pm.

The entry sheet for the drive off event on March 27 is now posted on the noticeboard and those who are intending to enter the competition are asked to put their names on the board.


Last Sunday in fresh but dry conditions, the traditional drive in scramble took place to kick off the new season. President, Margaret Twibill; captain, Tommie Mellett; lady captain, Phyllis Lee; and junior captains, Joe Cooper and Siobhan Burke, opened the proceedings by driving off the first tee in front of all the members. The course was in wonderful condition which was reflected in some fantastic scores. Every Friday is open Friday, visit for other open competitions throughout the year.


In last weekend’s ladies’ 15 hole competition, Ina Hennelly was the winner with a score of 32pts, she finished just ahead of Catherine McEveney. The men’s 15 hole competition was claimed by Myles Forde who scored 38pts with Alan Burke coming home in second two points behind. Third place went to Tomás Mannion.

In the team league competition the trio of Owen Hannon, Pat Burke, and Paraic McHugh were the winners last weekend with a score of 69pts in a tightly fought finish. Second place went to the team of Frank Curley, Tommy Hynes, and Noel Crean. The incoming captains for the year James Prendergast and Dympna Clarke held their drive in last Sunday.

European Seniors Tour Player Jimmy Heggarty is offering lessons at the club. He can cater for group lessons of up to 10 players. For further information contact Jimmy Heggarty at 087 9812609, Riana at 087 1226000, or Chris at 094 9371527.


In last weekend’s gents’ Stableford competition Sean Hoban was the winner finishing with a score of 44pts. He took the win on the basis of his handicap after the top three players all finished on 44pts. Second place went to Mick McGovern and third to Paul Moore. Martin Halpin took fourth finishing on 42pts. In the ladies’ Stableford competition Nuala Hopkins was the winner finishing ahead of Pat Kelly and Aine Kavanagh.

The club has decided in association with the Bone Marrow Leukaemia Trust to organise a Brains of Mayo table quiz which will be held over three weeks later this month. Teams of four will be invited to participate on either Thursday March 24 or March 31, with the qualifiers on both evenings invited to take part in the grand final on Thursday April 7. Proceedings will begin at 9pm sharp on each evening in the Castlecourt Hotel. The entry fee will be €10 per person with an overall grand final first prize of €500. The Bone Marrow for Leukaemia Trust has a policy of separation of funding into three lines of activity: Direct support for patients and their relatives; support for the running of the hematology department; and support for leukaemia and bone marrow transplant research and development.


Page generated in 0.0959 seconds.