Winter league’s get ready for tee off



Last weekend’s winner of the competition sponsored by Shaw’s, Castlebar, was Vinnie Gibbons with a score of 53 (back nine ). Jim Conlon came second also finishing on 53 with Pat Kilgallon coming third on 54. The gross prize was won by James Lavin who scored 54. The ladies’ competition was claimed by Aine MacSubhine who scored 47. Catherine McNulty finished in second place with a score of 50, Mary Brett came third finishing with a score of 55. Dermot MacMahon claimed the golfer of the year prize and Breege Moran won the lady golfer of the year title after last weekend’s competition.


In the 18 hole single stableford competition sponsored by Ballina Snooker Club, Cian Burke was the winner on the day with a score of 43pts, Thomas Forde came second on a score of 42pts. Ronnie Cawley took third place with 40pts on the day. The entry sheet for the Winter League is up on the club notice board, all those interested in playing in this competition are asked to put their names and handicaps on the sheet. The competition will start on Sunday, October 31 and continue over the following three weeks.

The club will be hosting a centenary table quiz in the clubhouse next Thursday night October 21 at 9pm, teams of four cost €40. Ballina Golf Club is also currently offering a number of life memberships, details of which can be found in the club office or by calling 096 21050.


Last weekend’s action in the Winter League saw Padraic Cunnane win the juniors’ section with a score of 34pts playing off 13. The ladies’ section saw Fiona Prenty come out on top with a score of 33pts on the back nine. Siobhán Herr came second on 33pts also with Anne Freeley third on 32pts. The gents’ section was claimed by Barry Freeman who scored 42pts, he finished three points ahead of Robbie Hughes in second place and John Jordan was a further point back in third.

Castlebar ladies

Last weekend’s club competition was won by Mary Rose McNulty who scored 36pts, Peggy Kilgallon came home in second place while Carmel Connaughton was third. The gross prize on the day was won by Sheila Baynes. Next Wednesday night October 20 will see the presentation of prizes from recent competitions taking place.


The MMH sponsored open day at Claremorris Golf Club was won by Tom Burke with a score of 39pts. Matt O’Donnovan with 38 points was the winner of the category one prize, with Eamon Doherty taking the category two win and the category three prize going to Pat Burke. The ladies’ competition was won by Riana Keane on 35 points, Mary Walsh came second on 32 points.

A four ball Scramble will take place on Friday and Saturday next. This is a joint effort between Kilconly GAA Club and Claremorris Golf Club. The fee is €25 per player (€100 per team ), re-entry costs €15 each. The winning team will receive a voucher for €1,000 to the Slieve Russell Golf and Country Club.

Kiltimagh GAA Club

Kiltimagh GAA Club will host a golf classic tomorrow, Saturday October 16, in Ballyhaunis Golf Club. First prize for the competition is four tickets to the All Ireland football final in 2011, including four star accommodation. First prize is subject to official GUI handicaps. The presentation of prizes will take place in the Park Hotel Kiltimagh afterwards. Entry is €200 per team of four, a time sheet will be in operation for more information contact Shane Gilmartin on 086 8322481.


Last Sunday was the night of champions at Westport Golf Club. The “who’s who” of the 2010 season were present to receive the recognition that they truly deserve from their fellow members, following their magnificent achievements on the championship course at Carrowholly. In all there were 10 presentations covering the ladies, gents and junior boys. One of the most popular presentations was the Castlecourt Trophy. Millennium Captain, Niall Halpin and his playing partner Mary Dolan had a hard fought victory over the well-fancied team of Liam Friel and Nuala Hopkins. The fact that Niall and Mary were giving a two-shot advantage to their worthy final opponents only made the victory even sweeter. The final title, the gents’ Murtagh foursomes, was only decided a matter of hours before the gala presentation.

In a repeat of their epic Murtagh semi-final clash of last year, the father and son combination of Austin and Damien Gibbons met the grandfather and grandson combination of Dave Newton and, junior golfer of the year, Joe Hastings. Last year the Gibbons lost on the 20th but this year they would fare even worse; they lost on the 19th.

On this night the Golfers of the Year are the crème de la crème. Joe Hastings was the runaway victor in junior boys’ section. Nuala Moody and defending champion Maureen Keane could not be separated in 2010 and both were crowned joint golfers of the year in the ladies’ club. This gents’ golfer of the year went to Joe Kelly.


Page generated in 0.0724 seconds.