President’s day brings out the best in Westport golfers


In the weekend Stableford competition sponsored by Gifts Supreme, Sean Canny was the winner with a score of 41. Ray Mannion came home in second place with a score of 37, and John Walsh was only one behind him in third place on 36. In the ladies’ section Carmel Henry won with a score of 35, Mary Brett was a close second finishing with 34, and Geraldine Evans came home third with a score of 33. The youths’ section was won by Marissa Brett who scored 22.

The Mary Staunton memorial scramble which was held recently was won by the team of Mary Fahy, Padraic Cuffe, and Noel Healy. Second place went to Declan Giblin, Dave McHale, and Geraldine Kilgallon. The draw for the Broderick Cup has been placed on the notice board.


The Sunday competition sponsored by The Downhill was won by Gerry O’Mahony who finished with a score of 43pts, James Hogan came home second with a score of 41pts, and John O’Connor came third with a score of 40. The hookers and slicers competition saw James Devanney win out with a score of 31pts. John Carden came second with a score of 28.5pts, and Tony Kieran third on 25pts.

The Ballina ladies won the Connacht challenge cup with a well deserved win over Bearna Golf Club in Murvagh, Donegal. The team of Josephine O’Hora, Eithne Daly, Shauna Smith, Marie McLoughlin, and Ann McLoughlin now go on to contest the finals of the competition in Donabate Golf Club in Dublin. Shauna Smith set the Ballina ladies on their way to a three and one win, Eithne Daly came from four down after nine holes to win her game on the 18th, and Marie McLoughlin won it for Ballina also on the 18th in her game.


In last weekend’s stroke competition Cian Henry was the winner of the junior section of the competition with a score of 64 playing off 19. Anne Freely was the ladies’ winner finishing up with a score of 71, and Margaret Dyer came home second place with 74. In the gents’ competition Patsy Glynn was the winner coming home with a score of 65, he held off Diarmuid Finnegan on handicap scoring after he also finished on 65, with Tom Fanning jr coming home in third place on a score of 67.


In last weekend’s Abbeybreaffy competition Kate Killala was the winner with a score of 38pts, and Edel Burke came second after finishing her round on a score of 36pts. The gross prize was won by Sheila Baynes, and Aisling Towey claimed third with a score of 35pts. The lady president prize will take place on Sunday August 5, the time sheet is up in the ladies’ locker room and players are asked to put their names down.


Bridie Hughes, the first lady president at Westport Golf Club, had a weekend to remember when her competition attracted one of the largest entries of the year. Eamon Daly (23 ) had one shot to spare over defending champion, Bill Hopkins (14 ), in the gents’ competition. Daly commented that four solid pars on the back nine was the key to his victory, he was especially pleased with a solid rescue club approach into the wind that secured a four at the 11th.

The ladies’ competition was a classic. Nuala Hopkins (20 ) secured victory over Nuala Moody (16 ). Echoing the sentiments of Eamon Daly, lady champion Hopkins highlighted an opening pair of pars as the foundation she required to play solid golf for the remaining 16 holes. In a real family affair Bill and Nuala Hopkins were delighted to see their grand-niece, Fiona Gordon, take the junior girls’ prize. For the record Jack O’Donnell took the boys’ title. The runner-up in the ladies’ competition had the comfort of seeing her score catapult her into pole position in the Golfer of the Year table.

With double points on offer, this weekend promised to be crucial in the gents’ Golfer of the Year table. As promised with the new format, more than 100 golfers are still in contention, which ensures the month of September will be the most exciting in years for our gents and junior boys. Neil Chambers, defending champion, following a very slow start now finds himself in ninth position overall, less than 300 points out of a coveted top position.


Page generated in 0.0950 seconds.