Bursaries open to Mayo sports clubs

Mayo sports clubs have been invited to apply for the Texaco Sportstars Bursaries worth €5,000 each.

Launched in 2007 as part of celebrations to mark the 50th anniversary of the Texaco Sportstars Awards, the scheme is open to all clubs, irrespective of sporting discipline.

Previous Mayo winners were Kiltimagh Special Olympics Network (2007 ), Manulla Football Club (2008 ), and Garrymore GAA Club, Claremorris (2009 ).

A fund in excess of €100,000 has been set aside for the scheme from which €5,000 each will go to 20 successful clubs in the Republic with £3,500 (sterling ) each going to five clubs in Northern Ireland.

In framing their application, clubs must demonstrate why they deserve a bursary and how they would spend the award if successful. Winners will be decided by an independent panel of sports experts.

Enda Riney, country chairman, Chevron (Ireland ) Limited said since it was launched, the scheme has helped foster local sporting talent and fund club developments of all kinds in a manner that has benefited communities across Ireland.

To apply clubs must complete an on-line application available at www.texaco.ie/bursary www.texaco.ie/bursary> or at Texaco service stations. Closing date for entries is Sunday August 29 and winners will be announced in September.


Page generated in 0.1129 seconds.