National Tidy Towns architectural award for Castlebar development

Axo Architects’ design for a new commercial urban infill development at Market Square/Hopkins Road in Castlebar has given Castlebar its first national award in the tidy towns competition.

The Tidy Towns Architectural Award is a special competition sponsored by The Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland to recognise the vital role modern architecture can play in maintaining and enhancing the fabric of Irish towns, villages, and urban areas.

A large number of new buildings and public spaces were entered into the competition by tidy towns committees and local authorities all around Ireland. Axo Architects’ design was shortlisted to a final group of nine projects and its design in Castlebar was announced as the winner at the awards ceremony held in Dublin Castle recently.

“We are very satisfied with the award not just as recognition for our efforts in trying to deliver a quality building and public plaza for the town of Castlebar, but also as a reward for the dedication and community effort shown by the tidy towns committee in Castlebar over the last number of years,” said Michael Horan, managing director of Axo Architects.

The building is owned by Cavendish Lane Properties Limited and it was constructed by the Castlebar contracting firm, Mountain View Securities Limited. In fact the Castlebar connection goes deeper in that the project architect, Michael Moore of Axo Architects, is a native of Castlebar.

Councillor Michael Kilcoyne, Mayor of Castlebar, who attended the awards ceremony, congratulated Axo Architects on the award, which he stated “is important for the town of Castlebar”. Cllr Kilcoyne also commented that it is important that outstanding designs are rewarded and he hoped that this project would prompt outstanding designs for other infill opportunities and derelict sites in the county town.

Noel Byrne, chairperson of Castlebar Tidy Towns Committee, congratulated Axo Architects and Mountain View Securities for their combined efforts. Mr Byrne paid tribute to Seamus Granahan, director of services in Mayo County Council, and Padraig Kelly, architect in Mayo County Council, whom he described as being instrumental in guiding the tidy towns committee in the application process for the architectural award.


Page generated in 0.2310 seconds.