President’s prizes see the summer season come to close


Last weekend’s stableford competition was won by Joe Monaghan, in second place was Ray Mannion with Seamus Holian in third. The ladies’ stableford saw Mary Lavin take top spot with Carmel Costello in second place and Aine McDonald in the bronze position.

The weekend scramble competition was won by the team of Fentan Barrett, Mary Gillard and Marie Cresham. The second trio home were Oliver Moran, Bob Leggett, and Delia O’Hara, while in third place was the team of Breege Moran, Alan Jennings and Kitty O’Connor.


The president’s prize (Tony Walsh ) was won by N McLoughlin who scored 65, in second place was D Timlin who hit a 67, the same score as T Forde in third place. The gross prize went to B Kilgallon with an 80. The category one section was won by J Fox with 71, category two by P Forde with a 37, and the category three by R McHale with a 71. The front nine was won by M McHale and the back nine by M Brady.

This weekend there is a club classic competition for teams of four. For more information on it ring the club on 096 21050.


The Mary Colahan president’s prize was won by Mike O’Neill with a score of 64, second place went to Matt O’Donovan with a score of 67, with the gross prize being won by Neil McGill. Anthony Hennelly came home in third place on 71, the same score as fourth placed Padraic Naughton, while Keith Devlin finished on 72 in fifth place, one ahead of sixth placed Seamus Owens.

The ladies’ section was won by Patricia Prendergast with a score of 70, Mary Walsh was six behind in second place, with Nancy McHugh coming third on 78 and the second Mary Walsh breaking into the winners’ circle to take the gross prize with a 92. Catherine McEveney came fourth with 80 nett, and Ann Moran came fifth with 83 nett. The past president’s prize went to Pat Hunt, with the nine hole beginner being won by Kathleen Feeley and the five hole junior competition being picked up by Sarah O’Brien.

Claremorris look to bring All-Ireland glory home again in FBD GAA Golf Challenge final

Connacht champions Claremorris will represent the western province in the 10th FBD GAA Golf Challenge All-Ireland final this weekend at Faithlegg House Hotel and Golf Club. The showdown will take place over two days on Saturday and Sunday when Claremorris captain Martin Higgins, Des Griffith, Ger Noone and Mick Conway will play the three other provincial winners and teams from Chicago and New York who will battle it out for a chance to win an All-Ireland trophy for their club.

Westport Golf Club

The junior boys’ and girls’ president’s prize saw some great golf in Westport, with Jack Beirne winning the boys’ competition with a score of 45. He finished five ahead of Michael O’Grady in second place while James Groden came third with a score of 36. In the girls’ section, Lucy Golden was the winner, with Brid Reddington coming second and Siobhain Golden finishing third.

Next Sunday’s competition is the Crumlin Hospital three ball Rumble. Credit must go to John Collins in organising this competition as the winners of next Sunday’s competition will represent the club in the regional final at Westport on Tuesday September 22. Regional winners can look forward to a five day golf trip to Portugal in November. Members are reminded that Westport Golf Club is now on Twitter. Simply place the phrase golfwestport in the Twitter search engine and follow.


Page generated in 0.1109 seconds.