Mayo schools to receive science awards

Discover Science and Engineering has announced that 22 Mayo primary schools will receive an Award of Science Excellence this year as part of the Discover Primary Science programme. The awards programme, which is organised by Discover Science & Engineering, the Government’s national science promotion programme, acknowledges the efforts of primary school children and teachers who have demonstrated an increased knowledge of science and its many applications.

The 22 Mayo schools that will receive the awards are: Culleens National School; St Feichín's NS, Cross; Newtownwhite NS; Currabaggan NS; Tavneena NS; Derrywash NS; St John's NS; Scoil Naomh Brid, Killocraun NS; Quay NS; St John's NS; Carrowkennedy NS; Knock NS; Kinaffe NS; Killasser NS; St Joseph's NS; Croí Mhuire gan Smál; Scoil Náisiúnta Naomh Seosamh; Holy Family NS, Killeen; St Brid's Special School; Scoil Íosa Carracastle; Crossmolina NS and Corclough NS.

In applying for an Award of Science Excellence, schools were required to keep a Discovery Log recording science related work carried out throughout the year. Credits were awarded for completing a certain number of activities from the DPS classroom activity pack as well as visiting one of the DPS accredited Discover Science Centres. Additional credits were awarded for taking part in a number of other DSE programmes including the Greenwave project, a mass science experiment recording the arrival of spring in Ireland, as well as contributing to Science Week, DSE’s annual national week long promotion of science and engineering.



Page generated in 0.1479 seconds.