Mayo face Waterford after Tipp' test

Camogie: Premier Junior Championship

On the run: Fionnuala McLaughlin on the attack for Mayo. Photo: Mayo Camogie.

On the run: Fionnuala McLaughlin on the attack for Mayo. Photo: Mayo Camogie.

Mayo will head to the WIT Arena in Waterford tomorrow afternoon in round three of the Premier Junior Championship, looking to pick up their first win in the championship this year.

The Mayo girls were beaten by Tipperary last weekend on a score of 0-18 to 0-7 in Tooreen, following their opening day loss to Clare in Cusack Park.

Despite the gap on the scoreboard at the end it was point for point for much of the first half. The Mayo forwards kept the Tipperary rearguard very busy all the way through and caused many problems.

Both Saoirse Delaney and Fionnuala McLaughlin injected plenty of pace into the game whenever they got the ball and were able to turn their markers and move the ball on.

Tipperary through Aoife McLoughney and Grace Moloney tagged some points late in the first half to give them a little space on the scoreboard, going into half time leading 0-10 to 0-6.

The breeze that was present for the first half very much abated for the second and both sides had to deal with very hot conditions for the final half of the game.

Tipperary didn’t begin to pull away until well into the second half when their point-scoring ability from distance began to shine through. Aoife McLoughney playing at corner forward for the visitors put eight points on the board all from distance.

No goals were conceded by either team and it is a mark of the extreme hard work that was evident from both back lines. Mayo goalkeeper Aoibheann Crawley had a busy day and made some great saves and along with her hardworking back lines kept out any goal chance that Tipperary were trying to get through.

Mayo didn’t give up the fight at any stage and a credit to each and every player that they were at no point intimidated by the Premier county during the match. They ran at the Tipperary forward lines and took the ball forward many times.


Mayo: M Delaney (0-3, 2f, 1 45 ), F McLaughlin (0-3 ), H O’Malley (0-1 ), Ciara Delaney (0-1, 1f )

Tipperary: A McLoughney (0-8 ), S Meagher (0-2 ), A O’Mahony (0-2 ), G Moloney (0-4 ), C Cummins (0-1 ), L O’Connor (0-1 )

Mayo: A Crawley, A Doherty, A Mulkeen, G Delaney, S Golden, A Lambert, Caoimhe Delaney, M Delaney (C ), R Lyons, F McLaughlin, H O’Malley, S O’Brien, S Delaney, L Scahill, Ciara Delaney Subs: E Delaney, N Kennedy

Tipperary: C Holohan, M E Ryan, A Sheedy, N McCormack, A Crosse, R Maher, E Fogarty, C Stakelum, C McKeogh, C Horgan (C ), C Cummins, S Meagher, A McLoughney, G Moloney, A O’Mahony Subs: L O’Connor


Page generated in 0.1160 seconds.