Claremorris AmAm this weekend


Claremorris Golf Club

The Ulster Bank sponsored day at Claremorris Golf Club saw Francis Gavin win with 41pts. The cat 1 was won by Stephen Burke on 40pts. Brian Farragher’s score of 37pts was enough to win the cat 2 section, while cat 3 was won by Andy Woodhouse with 41pts. Nora Maloney won the ladies’ competition with 47pts, Mary Egan came home in second spot with 37pts, and Peggy Tawse was third also on 37pts.

The club will hold its fundraising AmAm on this weekend. Smyth’s Toys is the sponsor of the competition. Entry fee is €120 and golfers can re-enter at €15 with a different team. The first prize is four electric golf trolleys and there are several other valuable prizes. For information contact Chris at 094 9371527.

The club will hold a seniors’ open day on Monday June 8. The categories are 55-60, 60-65, 65-70, and 70 upward. The entry fee is €15, and €7 for members. The competition is sponsored by Sam’s Bar (Peter Killeen ). There is a special rate for dinner in the clubhouse.

Green and Red Golfing Society

The Green and Red Golfing Society will hold an outing to Ballina Golf Club on Saturday May 30. The captain of the society, Gerry Connor, urges all members to make a special effort to attend. For further information phone Ballina Golf club at 096 21050.


The Olde Woods sponsored competition was won by Dave McHale with a score of 37. Tommy Walsh came second with a score of 36 (back nine ), and Derek Dempsey finished in third spot also with a score of 36. The ladies’ competition was won by Nora Heraty who scored 35, thanks to her better score on the back nine, with Mary Brett finishing in second place also on 35. Geraldine O’Malley finished in third place with 34. Darren O’Boyle’s score of 16 was enough to win the youth competition.

This weekend’s competition is stroke play (for Golfer of the Year competition ) and is sponsored by Roche’s Centra Balla. The overall best score of the weekend will also win the Joe Leavy Perpetual Trophy.

On Wednesday evening, June 10, a special scramble will be held in memory of Mary Staunton who passed away last year. As well as all Mary’s friends in Balla Golf Club, her friends from Castlebar Golf Club are invited to participate in this event. For all lady golfers in Balla Golf Club, every Monday for June and July commencing June 8. a ladies only competition will take place at 5.30pm. Different novelty competitions will be organised with the emphasis on fun!

Westport Golf Club

A reminder to all senior golfers that the next club seniors’ competition takes place on Thursday May 28. The Mayo seniors golf tournament will take place on Wednesday June 3. The annual event, at Westport Golf Club, will be played over 18 holes, stableford. The entry fee is €20 per player with a €5 discount for members of Westport Golf Club. There will be prizes for nett and gross scores with the presentation taking place at 7.30pm.

The competition is open to all GUI members over the age of 55. There is a time-sheet in operation from 8.30am to 2.30pm. Entries can be made by contacting the club on 098 28262 or via e-mail to [email protected]. The event committee have requested that local golfers play early in the day, thus allowing all those travelling to play late and attend the presentation. In the current economic climate, the continued sponsorship of Dave McDermott, Hastings (Westport ) Limited, must be complimented and a large crowd is expected at the presentation. With the event attracting more than 100 golfers, competitors are requested to present themselves to the starter at least 15 minutes prior to their allocated time. Full catering facilities will be available on the day.

The following members have qualified to enter the Irish Independent Medalists of the Month draw: Peter McNally, Ray Moran, Phillip Cawley, Sean Fitzgerald, and Jack Healy. Each individual must e-mail their contact details and their unique personal reference date to the Irish Independent.


Last weekend’s stroke competition saw Paul Finnegan win out in the junior section with a score of 66 playing off 21. The ladies section was won by Marietta Potgieter with a 68 off 18, with Kay Buckley two behind with 70 off 13. Kung Fanning came third with a 71 off 19, and Marge Hierons won the gross prize with 87 off 15.

The gents’ competition was won by John Moran with a 66 off 17. Eoghan Collins was only two behind with a 68 off 10. Third spot went to Mark Potgieter with a 68 off 13, and Tom Moran won the gross with a 77 off 7.



Page generated in 0.1030 seconds.