€3.7 million in funding for 26 Mayo schools under the 2022 Summer Works Scheme

Local politicans have welcomed the announcement of over €3million for schools across the county under the Summer Works Scheme. 

Mayo Fianna Fáil TD Dara Calleary  said: "I am very pleased to confirm the provision of a funding investment of €3.27million in 2022 to facilitate the delivery 26 projects under the Summer Works Scheme here in Mayo.

"13 primary and 13 post-primary schools have been selected for inclusion in the scheme and the announcement is being made now so that schools have a good opportunity to plan and deliver their chosen projects in the summer months.

"The Department has also announced that it is envisaged that a new Multi-Annual Summer Works Scheme will be opened for new applications in Q2 2022. This will have a strong climate action aspect to it. Further details will be announced later in Q1 2022," he explained.

"I am very pleased for the Mayo schools selected for inclusion this year and wish them well with the works which include roof repairs, electrical works, replacement of windows, mechanical works, external works ans provision of science lads."

Fine Gael TD , Michael Ring stated: "I am delighted that the Summer Work Scheme allocation has been announced at this time. It will give the successful schools ample time to plan and carry out the required works in summer 2022".

"A key priority of the Department of Education is to continue to support and sustain the operation of schools in the context of COVID-19. Some of the works today include window improvement/replacement projects in schools which will assist in managing ventilation in these schools".

The Mayo schools included are Garracloon NS, SN Naomh Feichin Cross, SN Colm Cille Westport, Cormaic NFA Carn, St. Michael's NS Ballina, SN Ceathru an Chlochar, Mount Pleasant NS, Scoil Naomh Brid Ballycastle, St. Oliver Plunketts NS, Myna NS, Lahardane NS, Drumslide NS, Convent of Mercy NS and at post-primary level the schools are Balla Secondary School, St. Muredach's College, St. Joseph's Secondary School Castlebar, Colaiste Cholmáin, Jesus and Mary Secondary School, Scoil Muire agus Padraig Swinford, Colaiste Mhuire Tourmakeady, Rice College, Sacred Heart School Westport, St. Brendan's College Belmullet, St. Tiernan's College Crossmolina, St. Patrick's College Lacken Cross Colaiste Chomain.


Page generated in 0.2121 seconds.