Draw sets up some top-class encounters in knock-out stages

Mayo GAA Football Championship Quarter Finals

Ballintubber will face Knockmore in the Mayo GAA SFC quarter-finals after this evenings draw pitted the last two champions together.

Ballintubber will face Knockmore in the Mayo GAA SFC quarter-finals after this evenings draw pitted the last two champions together.

The draw for the Mayo GAA Senior Football championship has thrown up some mouthwatering encounters none more so than the clash of defending champions Knockmore and the 2019 winners Ballintubber. The Tubber made it three from three on Sunday afternoon with a commanding 3-17 to 1-13 win over Claremorris in Hollymount.

Elsewhere Westport will take on Ballina Stephenites who booked their place in the last eight on Sunday with a 1-10 to 0-6 win over Davitts in Charlestown. Belmullet who popped group three head of Knockmore will take on last years beaten finalists, Breaffy who finished in second place in their group behind Garrymore. The south Mayo men who played out a 2-9 to 2-9 draw with Breaffy on Saturday night will face Castlebar Mitchels who secured their spot in the knock-out stages thanks to a 0-14 to 1-11 draw with Ballaghadereen on Friday night.

In the senior relegation play-off Davitts will take on Kiltane, who were beaten by The Neale in Castlebar on Sunday lunch time, while Aghamore who pushed Belmullet all the way on Saturday afternoon will be squaring off against Balla in the relegation semi-final.

In the Intermediate Football Championship quarter-finals Parke Keelogus Crimlin will be facing a Ballyhaunis team who pipped Castlebar Mitchels B to a spot in the last eight thanks to a 0-12 to 1-8 win on Sunday lunch time. Mayo Gaels will pit their whits against Moy Davitts, who also edged their way into the last eight on Sunday lunch time after a narrow win over Bonniconlon in Parke.

Louisburgh who saw off last years beaten finalists Kiltimagh in an absorbing encounter on Sunday afternoon will be taking on Hollymount-Carramore in the quarter-finals, while the last clash is the meeting of Crossmolina Deel Rovers and Kilmaine. In the relegation play-offs Ardnaree will face Lahardane and Swinford will meet Ballinrobe.

The draw was also made for the Junior and Junior B quarter-finals. While the make up of the eight sides in the Junior competition is known, it still has to be sorted out between Achill and Cill Chomain who will top group two after Kilmovee Shamrocks conceded their game against Achill after their objections that the fixture being played in Achill was rejected by the county board and their appeal to Connacht GAA was unsuccessful.

The draw has put together Islandeady and Ballycastle, Shrule Glencorrib and the runners up in Group B, the winners of Group B and Ardagh and Kilmeena and Killala.

In the Junior B quarter-finals there are seven teams involved, with Kilfian getting a bye into the semi-final during the draw for this round. The other games sees Tourmakeady take on Kilmovee Shamrocks, Ballycroy pit their whits against Moygownagh and Eastern Gaels face Lacken.

Mayo GAA SFC Quarter Finals

Westport v Ballina Stephenites

Garrymore v Castlebar Mitchels

Belmullet v Breaffy

Ballintubber v Knockmore

Mayo GAA SFC Relegation Play-Offs

Davitts v Kiltane

Aghamore v Balla

Mayo GAA IFC Quarter Finals

Parke Keelogues-Crimlin v Ballyhaunis

Mayo Gaels v Moy Davitts

Louisburgh v Hollymount-Carramore

Crossmolina Deel Rovers v Kilmaine

Mayo GAA IFC Relegation Play-Offs

Ardnaree v Lahardane

Swinford v Ballinrobe

Mayo GAA JFC Quarter-Finals

Islandeady v Ballycastle

Shrule Glencorrb v Runners Up Group 2

Winners Group 2 v Ardagh

Kilmeena v Killala

Mayo GAA JFC B Quarter-Finals

Tourmakeady v Kilmovee

Ballycrowy v Moygownagh

Eastern Gaels v Lacken

Kilfian - (bye )


Page generated in 0.0985 seconds.