More winners from around the clubs


The JT Sports competition was won by Pat Walsh with a score of 36 on the back nine, with Oliver Moran coming home in second place also with a 36, while Tommy Walsh came third with a 35. The ladies’ competition was won by Mary Brett who scored a 35 on the back nine, with Geraldine Kilgallon coming home in second place also with a 35. Delia O’Hara took the bronze medal place with a 34 on the back nine, with Michael Miller’s 39 enough to take the youth prize. Due to the inclement weather, last Wednesday’s scramble was cancelled. Sympathy is extended to Jim Quinn and his extended family on the death of Jim's sister, Bridie Fahey, Athlone, recently. May she rest in peace.

Castlebar ladies

The 18 hole stableford competition on Sunday May 3 was won by Marie Rowley with 36pts.. Second was Cora Mulroy with 34pts. Sheila Baynes got the gross prize once again and Eilis McGing was in third place with 32pts. The competition for Wednesday May 6 was cancelled due to the heavy rain but thankfully the sun came out for our competition on Sunday last sponsored by McDermott’s Furnishings. First was Daryl Conroy with 34pts, second was lady captain Betty Gannon with 33pts. The gross winner was Connie White, and third place went to Peggy Kilgannon also on 33pts. This evening is not only our second social scramble but it is also presentation night and all prize winners are asked to either attend in person or organise a representative to collect the prize for them.

Westport Golf Club

With exceptional scores being posted last Sunday in the Alex Mealia GOY, honourable mentions must go to gents’ captain Sean Fitzgerald and junior cup team captain Shane Larkin on two magnificent rounds of golf. Both men saw the turning point in their rounds on the back nine, with Fitzgerald getting up and down from a tricky position on the 12th and Larkin securing a downhill 18ft birdie on the 14th.

John Marry, seniors’ co-ordinator, is certainly having a great season to date with his monthly competitions. Staying with the tried and tested formula, the members are playing some competitive golf each month. In excess of 40 competitors is the norm for each event, and after the first four competitions 25 different players have being called to the “presentation table”, with only seven players called up twice. The next seniors’ competition will take place on Thursday May 28, with a reminder that the annual Mayo Seniors’ competition is scheduled to take place on Wednesday June 3. Well done to Jim Browne and his junior golfers on their success in the Fred Daly Plate against Ballyhaunis. All the effort over the winter period is paying off. Entries for the 2009 William J Walsh will close on Sunday next. Prepaid entries must be paid to the pro-shop. Next Sunday’s competition in the men’s club is sponsored by Field Boxmore.

Ballyhaunis Golf Club

Phil Glynn won the ladies’ competition with a score of 71 playing off 22, while Kay Buckley came home in second spot with a score of 72 playing off 13, and the gross prize went to Anne Freeley with a score of 90. The men’s competition was won by Ivan Freely with a score of 63 off 18, with Tony Cribben with a score of 64, while Derek Walsh came home in third with a 64. David Walsh took the gross prize with a 79.

Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance

The AGM of Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance will take place in the Castlebar Golf Club, on Monday May 18 at 8pm. All members are invited to attend. Take note that the Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance’s ninth event, the Captain’s (Denis O'Boyle ) Prize, takes place in Claremorris Golf Club on Saturday May 23.


Page generated in 0.1046 seconds.