Thirty four local community groups benefit from Oweninny Community Benefit Fund allocations

Photo: Bord na Mona

Photo: Bord na Mona

Mayo County Council and Oweninny Power Designated Activity Company are pleased to announce the allocation of approximately €162,400 to local community groups from North Mayo.

The funding comes as a result of a benefit fund to the local communities from the Oweninny Windfarm. The allocations follow extensive engagement and collaboration with the local communities through many local structures such as the Mayo Public Participation Network, Oweninny Community Benefit Fund Evaluation Committee and Board. Funding is being awarded to a variety of projects ranging from Social Inclusion and Community Development to Local Health and Recreation Amenities.

The Fund attracted a lot of attention, with many applications received. Demand for the funding was well over subscribed. Those who were not successful on this occasion are reminded that the Fund will be open for applications again in 2022.

Kevin Kelly, Chair of Owneninny Community Benefit Fund Board and Chief Executive at Mayo County Council, said: "I would like to wish the 34 local community groups in North Mayo well in their efforts to have a positive impact in the development of their area.

"I would like to acknowledge the ongoing dedication, commitment, time and energy given to the development of the Community Benefit Fund by local community members, elected members, staff of Mayo County Council and Oweninny Power Designated Activity Company. It is through co-operation and willingness to work together that we have succeeded in providing funding to local community groups for the lifetime of the farm.”

Allocation of the funding broken down into the type of project funded is as follows: (1 ) Community Development €99,400 61%; (2 ) Education €27,500 17%; (3 ) Recreation / Health €26,500 16%; (4 ) Social Inclusion €4,500 3%; (5 ) Heritage / Culture €3,000 2% and (6 ) Environment €1,500 1%.

Allocation of the funding broken down into the areas funded is as follows: (1 ) Eskeragh €53,720 33%; (2 ) Bellacorrick €37,180 23%; (3 ) Crossmolina 20,500 13%; (4 ) Bangor €16,500 10%; (5 ) Area Wide 16,000 €10%; (6 ) Keenagh €10,000 6% and Moygownagh €8,500 5%.


Page generated in 0.1532 seconds.