Ballina features in Fleadh Cheoil 1995-2000 on TG4

A six part series started on TG4 last Sunday tracing some of the historic highs of Fleadh Cheoils from 1995 TO 2000 and also included in the series, will be the two years in the 1990s when the Fleadh came to Ballina.

At a time when large crowd gatherings are restricted due to the Coronavirus, this new six part series looks back at Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann events from the past.

Episode three and four will focus on Ballina with the first Ballina focused episode airing on Sunday, August 30 at 9.30pm looking at the 1997 Fleadh. Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann was hosted by Ballina for the first time ever in 1997.

The show will look back at the event in the company of Pat Butler and Breda Smyth and will feature Sean Smyth, Alan Kelly, Cathy Jordan, Eamonn Walsh, Brenda McCann, Grainne Hambly, Diarmaid O'Brien, Tony O'Connell, Tony O'Rourke, Ned Kelly, Joanna Meehan, Tim Collins, Tom Morrow, Dermot Crewe, James O’Grady, Brian Fitzgerald, Ronan Ryan, Padraig Rynne, Padraig O’Reilly, Paul McGlinchey, MacDara Ó Raghallaigh, Paddy Canny , Danú, Cathal Hayden, Donal Murphy, Kevin Murphy and The Bridge Céilí Band.

Episode four will air the following Sunday night and look back on the 1998 Fleadh in the north Mayo town. In 1998 Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann returned to Ballina for the second year running and Pat Butler and Breda Smyth again joined the many thousands who made the journey to the banks of the Moy. This episode will feature The McNamara Family, The Deane Family, Shiela and Clodagh Boylan, Tom Kenna, Paudie O’Connor, Aine Heanann, Siobhan Ní Chonarain, Liz and Yvonne Kane , Mirella Murray, Kevin Hough, Francis O’Connor, Aine Ní Chonaill, Kevin Murphy , Liam Kelly, Padraig, Morell, Seamus O’Kane, Anthony Quigney, Denis Liddy, Osna , Niall Keegan, Brendan Ring, John Gaughan, Paul O’Shaughnessy and PJ Hernon’s Swallows Tail.


Page generated in 0.1494 seconds.