Latest candidates confirmed to contest local elections

Former Rose of Tralee to seek FG nomination for European Elections

The local election areas in Mayo for this May's local elections.

The local election areas in Mayo for this May's local elections.

Fine Gael held two selection conventions over the weekend to further firm up their ticket going into May's local elections.

At their Ballina Muncipal District convention on outing councillors Jarlath Munnelly and John O'Hara were joined on the ticket by Kieran Gill and Aileen Horkan. In the Castlebar Municipal District sitting councillor Cyril Burke has been selected alongside former county councillor Eugene McCormack and former town councillor Ger Deere to contest the election.

The party also confirmed over the weekend that former Rose of Tralee winner and Mayo native Maria Walsh has announced her intention to seek the parties nomination for the upcoming European Elections. Speaking about her ambitions to get the nomination Walsh said: Everywhere I go, I meet people of all ages with the same hopes and concerns. The same constant questions crop up. ‘Will there be enough opportunities for me to raise my family in rural Ireland and for my children to stay here after that? How will the next CAP reform affect my family farm? How will Brexit affect my business?’

"I want to be a strong and effective voice for all with these concerns. I want to go to the European Parliament and help find the best answers and implement the solutions to those difficult questions.

"As a girl who grew up in the West of Ireland, I see the abundance of opportunities that we in the Midlands/North-West have to offer. From our beautiful rural villages like Shrule and Leitirmore to communities like Westport and Letterkenny, we are incredibly lucky to have diverse and talented resources. This is a pivotal time for all concerned here and I want to effect change,” Ms Walsh said.

"I want to become an MEP and represent the interests of a wide constituency that is going through many changes."

Local Election candidates for Mayo

Fianna Fáil

Castlebar: Cllr Al McDonnell, Cllr Martin McLoughlin, Cllr Blackie Gavin

Ballina: Cllr. Annie Mae Reape, Cllr. Michael Loftus, Eamon Moore

Westport: Cllr. Brendan Mulroy, Chris Maxwell

Claremorris: Cllr. Damian Ryan, Michael Carty

Swinford: Cllr. John Caulfield, Cllr Michael Smith

Belmullet: Cllr. Paul McNamara, Sean Carey

Fine Gael

Castlebar: Cllr Cyril Burke, Ger Deere, Eugene McCormack

Ballina: Cllr Jarlath Munnelly, Cllr John O’Hara, Kieran Gill, Aileen Horkan

Westport: Cllr. Tereasa McGuire, Peter Flynn, Austin Francis O’Malley

Claremorris: Convention to take place - sitting councillors: Cllr Tom Connolly, Cllr Patsy O'Brien, Cllr John Cribben

Swinford: Convention to take place:

Belmullet: Convention to take place - sitting councillors: Cllr Gerry Coyle

Sinn Fein

Castlebar: Cllr Joe McHale

Ballina: Michael Regan

Belmullet: Cllr Teresa Whelan

Claremorris: Natasha Ward

Swinford: Cllr Gerry Murray

Westport: No candidate selected yet

People Before Profit

Castlebar: Joe Daly

Green Party

Claremorris: Mags Sheehan


Ballina: Mark Duffy, Willie Nolan,

Westport: Cllr Christy Hyland

Local Election Areas

Ballina (population 25,110 ): Ardagh, Ardnaree North, Ardnaree South Rural, Ardnaree South Urban, Attymass East, Attymass West, Ballina Rural, Ballina Urban, Ballycastle, Ballysakeery, Carrowmore, Crossmolina North, Crossmolina South, Deel, Derry, Fortland, Kilfian East, Kilfian South, Kilfian West, Kilgarvan, Killala, Lackan North, Lackan South, Mount Falcon, Rathoma, and Sallymount.

Belmullet (population 12,600 ): Achill, An Corrán, An Geata Mór Theas, An Geata Mór Thuaidh,Ballycroy North, Ballycroy South, Bangor, Barr Rúscaí, Béal an Mhuirthead Bunaveela, Cnoc an Daimh, Béal Deirg Mór, Cnoc na Lobhar, Cnoc na Ráithe, Dumha Éige, Gleann Chaisil, Gleann na Muaidhe, Glenco, Guala Mhór , Moing na Bó, Na Monga, Newport West, Sheskin, Slievemore, Srahmore

Castlebar (population 29,992 ): Abhainn Bhrain, Addergoole, An Cheapaigh Dhuibh, Baile an Chalaidh, Baile Óbha, Balla, Ballinafad, Ballyhean, Ballynagoraher, Bellavary, Breaghwy, Burren, Burriscarra, Castlebar Rural (part ), Castlebar Urban, Clogher, Cloonkeen, Croaghmoyle, Killavally, Islandeady, Letterbrick, Manulla, Partraí, Pontoon, Roslee, Strade, Tamhnaigh na Graí,and Turlough.

Claremorris (population 27,141 ): Ballindine, Ballinrobe, Ballyhaunis, Ballyhowly, Bekan, Caraun, Claremorris, Cloghermore, Cong, Coonard, Course, Crossboyne,Culnacleha, Dalgan, Garrymore, Hollymount, Houndswood,Kilcolman, Kilcommon, Kilmaine, , Kilvine, Knock North, Knock South, Mayo, Murneen, Neale, Newbrook, Shrule, and Tagheen.

Westport (population 18,378 ): Aghagower North, Aghagower South , Aillemore, Bundorragha , Clare Island, Clogher, Croaghpatrick, Derryloughan, Drummin, Emlagh, Erriff, Glenhest, Kilgeever, Kilmaclasser, Kilmeena, Kilsallagh, Knappagh, Newport East, Louisburgh, Owennadornaun Slievemahanagh, Westport Rural and Westport Urban.

Swinford (population 17,286 ): Aghamore, Ballinamore, Brackloon, Bohola, Callow , Cloonmore, Coolnaha, Cuildoo, Doocastle, Kilbeagh, Kilkelly,Killedan, Kilmovee , Kiltamagh, Loughanboy, Meelick, Sonnagh, Sraheen, Swinford, Toocananagh,Toomore Tumgesh, Urlaur.


Page generated in 0.1702 seconds.