FAI Chief is Breaffy bound for 2019 Valentine’s Candlelight Ball

Photo: Sportsfile

Photo: Sportsfile

The FAI’s Chief Executive John Delaney has been announced as the guest speaker for the 19th annual Valentine’s Candlelight Ball which is taking place in Breaffy House Resort on Saturday, February 16, in aid of Western Care Association.

Welcoming the announcement, Chairperson of the Castlebar Voluntary Branch of Western Care, Dara Dunne, said he was delighted someone with such a high profile would be attending and speaking at this year’s 19th annual ball.

“John Delaney is a household name and we are really looking forward to giving him a big Mayo welcome when he attends as our guest speaker. I am looking forward to hearing about the trials and tribulations of Irish soccer and no doubt John will bring his renowned wit and charm with him for the occasion.”

The ball was launched on December 8 in the TF Royal Hotel by country music star Daniel O’Donnell. Speaking at the launch Daniel said: “The important thing in life is that each individual is given the chance to achieve what he or she is capable of. Ireland as a country is up there with the best when we look at how people with disabilities are treated.”

In wishing the event well Daniel added: “Sometimes the big things are easier to fund than the little things. But we all know in life, it’s the little things that make a much greater impact than the big things.”

Once again the event’s main sponsor is Brendan Chambers of Vodafone C&C Cellular together with the other sponsors, Abbey Breaffy Nursing Home and Corrib Oil and many businesses from across the county that donate prizes to the ball.

The 19th annual Western Care Valentine’s Candlelight Ball takes place in Breaffy House Resort on Saturday, February 16 at 7pm commencing with a champagne reception followed by gala dinner, raffle, auction and lots of prizes. Tickets costing €50 are available from Western Care Head Office, John Moore Road, Castlebar; Teresa Ward, Development Officer, (087 ) 2467857; or from committee members.

The 2019 committee are Dara Dunne, Caroline Costello, Barbara Flynn, Caroline Gordon, Lorraine Hall, Cora Mulroy, Helena Boylan, Henry McGlade, Naomi Tiernan, Orla Cunningham, Pauline Brennan, Steve O’Donnell, Siobhan Horan, Toni Bourke, Ethna Doherty, Teresa Ward and Tom Collins.


Page generated in 0.1744 seconds.