Local electoral boundaries shaken up ahead of council elections

The redrawn local election map for Mayo

The redrawn local election map for Mayo

The demarcation lines for local elections in Mayo are set to be changed substantially ahead of next year's local elections, potentially opening up new election opportunities for candidates in certain areas.

The Local Electoral Boundary Committee's report published this week recommends that Mayo be split into six local electoral areas, to be formed around the towns of Ballina, Belmullet, Castlebar, Claremorris, Swinford and Westport.

These changes see a return to the more natural electoral boundaries that existed prior to the last boundary change ahead of the 2014 local elections, which saw the elimination of town councils and the redrawing of the map in Mayo - splitting it into four different municipal districts.

The new local electoral areas recommended are: Ballina - six councillors, Belmullet - (including Achill and Mulranny ) three councillors, Castlebar - seven councillors, Claremorris - six councillors, Swinford - four councillors and Westport - four councillors.

The areas will continue to be administered through four Municipal Districts, to now be known as Ballina Municipal District - comprising of the Ballina local electoral area, Claremorris-Swinford Municipal District - comprising of the Claremorris and Swinford local electoral areas, the Castlebar Municipal District - comprising of the Castlebar local electoral area and the Westport-Belmullet Municipal District - comprising of the Westport and Belmullet local electoral areas.

The redrawing and redistribution of councillors across the areas will see some areas lose councillors and others gain them. The current Castlebar Municipal District with eight sitting councillors will reduce to seven seats while the Ballina Municipal District will reduce from eight to six, with both areas giving over ground to the re-established Swinford local electoral area.

The splitting of the current West Mayo Municipal District into two areas - the Westport local electoral area and the Belmullet electoral area, will see seven seats that are currently held in this area remain, but they will be split with four designated for Westport and three for Belmullet.

The area there will be most change in is in the Claremorris-Swinford Municipal District which will have a third of the 30 seats in the council contained there, with six seats in Claremorris and four in Swinford.

The following is a detailed description setting out the electoral divisions that comprise each recommended local electoral area.


Ardagh, Ardnaree North, Ardnaree South Rural, Ardnaree South Urban, Attymass East, Attymass West, Ballina Rural, Ballina Urban, Ballycastle, Ballysakeery, Carrowmore, Crossmolina North, Crossmolina South, Deel, Derry, Fortland, Kilfian East, Kilfian South, Kilfian, West, Kilgarvan, Killala, Lackan North, Lackan South, Mount Falcon, Rathoma, and Sallymount.


Acaill, An Corrán, An Geata Mór Theas, An Geata Mór Thuaidh,Ballycroy North, Ballycroy, South, Bangor, Barr Rúscaí, Béal an Mhuirthead Bunaveela, Cnoc an Daimh, Béal Deirg Mór, Cnoc na Lobhar, Cnoc na Ráithe, Dumha Éige, Gleann Chaisil, Gleann na Muaidhe, Glenco, Guala Mhór , Moing na Bó, Na Monga, Newport West, Sheskin, Slievemore, Srahmore


Abhainn Bhrain, Addergoole, An Cheapaigh Dhuibh, Baile an Chalaidh, Baile Óbha, Balla, Ballinafad, Ballyhean, Ballynagoraher, Bellavary, Breaghwy, Burren, Burriscarra, Castlebar Rural (part ), Castlebar Urban, Clogher, Cloonkeen, Croaghmoyle, Killavally, Islandeady, Letterbrick, Manulla, Partraí, Pontoon Roslee, Strade, Tamhnaigh na Graí and Turlough.


Ballindine, Ballinrobe, Ballyhaunis, Ballyhowly, Bekan, Caraun, Claremorris, Cloghermore, Cong, Coonard, Course, Crossboyne, Culnacleha, Dalgan, Garrymore, Hollymount, Houndswood,Kilcolman, Kilcommon, Kilmaine, , Kilvine, Knock North, Knock South, Mayo, Murneen, Neale, Newbrook, Shrule, and Tagheen.


Aghagower North, Aghagower South , Aillemore Bundorragha, Clare Island, Clogher, Croagh Patrick, Derryloughan, Drummin, Emlagh, Erriff, Glenhest, Kilgeever, Kilmaclasser, Kilmeena , Kilsallagh, Knappagh, , Newport East, Louisburgh, Owennadornaun, Slievemahanagh, Westport Rural and Westport Urban.


Aghamore, Ballinamore, Brackloon, Bohola, Callow , Cloonmore, Coolnaha ,Cuildoo, Doocastle, Kilbeagh, Kilkelly,Killedan, Kilmovee , Kiltamagh, Loughanboy, Meelick, Sonnagh, Sraheen, Swinford, Toocananagh, Toomore Tumgesh, Urlaur.


Page generated in 0.1646 seconds.