Jes juniors footballers qualify for Connacht final

Jes Junior Gaelic footballers have qualified for this year’s Connacht C final after a hard-fought and entertaining 2-7 to 1-7 win over neighbours St Enda’s in Pearse Stadium on Monday.

St Enda’s had some storming performances from Galway minors Brian Harlowe and Sean Fitzgerald, and Moycullen’s Alan Carr at centre-forward, who hit a cracking goal in the first half.

Others to catch the eye for Sean Gormally’s side were Tom Considine at centre-back and goal-keeper Andrew Power, who made some fine saves in the first half.

The Jes led by 1-6 to 1-2 at half time with their goal from a penalty by Niall Rooney.

It was all to play for in the closing 10 minutes with St Enda’s in complete control around the middle, and the Jes down to 14 men after a second yellow card to key midfielder Cillian Cleary.

However, Jes players Harry Devlin, MacDara Griffin, George Hill, Rory O’Gorman and Ben Kelly (all Salthill ), Cian Gilroy (St James ) and team captain Dara Golden, Mark O’Farrell and Liam Rooney (all Barna ) showed the necessary composure and determination to quality for the final.



Page generated in 0.0818 seconds.