Clonbrusk X-ray department is crowned Radiography Department of the Year

The X-ray department at the Primary Care Centre in Clonbrusk, Athlone has been named Radiography Department of the Year 2017.

It is the first time that the Athlone facility has won this coveted award. A member of the public anonymously nominated the facility for the accolade and a number of site visits were carried out to assess each nominated department, with the Athlone facility making the final three shortlist last month.

The winner was revealed this weekend at a ceremony in Cork and announced by the Minister for Health, Simon Harris. An online voting system was in place so the public had their say on the nominated centres. After combining the results of the public vote, online votes and results from site visits, Athlone emerged victorious.

Mayor of Athlone, Aengus O’Rourke, said: “I was in touch with the staff at the facility over the weekend and was delighted to hear the good news on Saturday evening. I am very pleased for the staff, their patients and management at our Primary Care Centre, to see their hard work and dedication recognised. In an industry with little opportunity for recognition, this national award is a great endorsement of the hard work of those on the front-line at our Primary Care Centre in Athlone.

“It is just as important to recognise achievement and success in the public sector as it is to be honest and open when things are not right. There is a lot of room for improvement in our healthcare facilities locally and nationally, particularly when it comes to care for the elderly and mental health services.

“However, here we have a wonderful facility, at the top of their game, setting national standards and it’s here in our town. I would like to offer my most sincere congratulations to the team at the X-ray department in Athlone, and everyone who plays a part on a day to day basis to ensure this facility is best in its class and setting standards we can all be very proud of.”



Page generated in 0.1078 seconds.