Search Results for 'Sarah Syron'

43 results found.

Mayo AC well represented in Dublin Marathon

Among the thousands of runners competing in the Dublin Marathon last Bank Holiday Monday was a very strong Mayo AC team. In total 21 athletes made up the Mayo AC team which took on the gruelling course across the nationals capital. The senior men’s team consisted of John Byrne, Anthony Devanney, Timmy Glavey, Kevin Mellett, Brendan Gill, Paddy O’Toole and Dave Huane. The men’s o40 team was made up of the trio of Gerry Galvin, Christy O’Malley and Tony Gleeson, while the men’s o50 consisted of PJ Hall, Owen Mongan, Brian Cusack, Tom Hunt and Christy O’Connell. The senior women’s team was made up of Paula Prendergast, Sarah Syron, Anne Fahy, Yvonne Byrne, Anne McDonnell and Anne Shortt. There were a number of excellent performances put in by the Mayo squad and some medals may be wining their way to Mayo once the AAI confirms the team and individual results.

Good performances at coastal callenge

At the recent Louisburgh to Westport half marathon Mayo ACs top seed John Byrne won the event in 74:25. Byrne was followed by team mate Robert Malseed finishing in 76:35. The next Mayo AC athletes home in excellent times were Brendan Gill and David Conway. The first woman home with an outstanding run was Mayo AC’s Sarah Syron. Syron who was troubled with injury during the summer months put in a fantastic performance against very tough competition to come home in 1:41:09.

Mayo AC announces teams for national 10k event

Mayo athletic club has announced its teams for the upcoming national 10k which is being held this year in conjunction with the Bupa Great Ireland Run 2010 this Sunday April 18 in the Phoenix Park, Dublin. The senior men’s team comprises Timmy Glavey and Andrew Lynskey. Mayo will be sending a six strong women’s team, with Breege Blehein McHale, Catherine Conway, Tracy Durkan, Mary Gleeson, Paula Prendergast, and Sarah Syron making it up. In the over 35 section, the men’s team will be led by John Byrne along with Gerry Galvin, David Huane, Robert Malseed, TJ McHugh, and Christy O’Malley. The women’s over 35 team comprises Cathy Connolly, Anne Fahey, Chris Gallagher, Ann Lennon, Ann Murray, and Angela O’Connor. Mayo AC will have a very strong representation in the over 50s men’s section with a seven strong team of veterans, made up of Mickey Ferry, Jim Gaughan, Tom Hunt, Owen Mongan, Patrick Moran, and Chris O’Connell.

Mayo athletes perform well in Clare

Kilnaboy AC in Co Clare have built a great tradition around their annual Michael 'Sonny' Murphy Memorial 10 mile road race. It is rightly recognised as one of the classic races in the country over this distance. In the unique landscape of the Burren the race has retained its charm and friendliness, with a distinctive warm welcome for every runner and walker.

Five Mayo teams in national 10k road race

The Woodie's DIY AAI National 10k Road Race Championship of Ireland takes place on Sunday April 26, in Navan, Co Meath. Club athletes from every county will be there hoping to win individual and team medals in what is usually a very competitive race. Mayo AC will be among them and is sending a strong squad, some with plenty of experience and some new to championship racing.

Strong performances from newcomers

Andrew Lynskey from Belmullet joined Mayo AC this year and has already established himself in the senior ranks. After a great performance in the National 10k last week, he won the 10k race from Clonbur to Cornamona on Sunday in aid of Zambia Housing Project. His finishing time was 37.15 on a very difficult course in windy conditions. Close behind in second place was clubmate Anto Devaney in 37.51. Other Mayo AC finishers were Dave Huane in 40.30, - fresh from his latest PB, 17.54 in the Athenry 5k the previous Tuesday, PJ Hall, and Christy O'Malley.

Mayo AC ready for mini marathon


Mayo women perform well at mini-marathon

Mayo AC women athletes and the Fif4Life group from Claremorris were among the 40,000 who took part in the 27th Flora Mini Marathon 10k in Dublin on Bank Holiday Monday. The race was won by Rosemary Ryan (Bilboa AC) in 34.27.

John Byrne wins Maugherow 10k

image preview

John Byrne was the clear winner of the Maugherow 10k on Sunday in 33.33. The race was run over a picturesque figure of eight course on the north Sligo coast, from the local church to the causeway with a tough second half and an uphill finish. Lucy Brennan (Sligo AC) was first woman in 38.08, less than two weeks after her victory in the Cork Marathon. Mayo AC's Andrew Lynskey was third in 36.34. Tom Hunt 40.36, PJ Hall 42.25, Ann Murray 45.07, Christy O'Malley 46.05, Sarah Syron 48.50 all had good workouts on a humid afternoon. Other finishers included Breege Staunton and Fit4Life participants Chris Clarke, Clare Walshe from Claremorris, and Michelle Reynolds from Ballina.

Mayo AC athletes compete nationally

At the Dublin Athletic Board Graded meeting last week two Mayo AC vets took part in the 1500 metres race. Seamus (Jim) Gaughan has been training back in Mayo recently and it showed as he recorded an excellent 4.57.33 in the over 55 category. His Dublin based colleague and clubmate Mick Ferry (over 60) also had a good run to finish 5.40.13.


Page generated in 0.0460 seconds.