Burke handed reins in Mullingar

Cllr Peter Burke became the latest cathaoirlach of the Mullingar area committee of Westmeath County Council, after his uncontested elevation at its annual meeting on Monday.

Cllr Burke will assume the role from his predecessor, Cllr Detty Cornally and his deputy for the next 12 months will be Cllr Johnnie Penrose from Ballynacarrigy.

As the future of the county and area committee chairs is covered in a power-sharing arrangement between Fine Gael and the Labour Party for the duration of this council’s term, it is believed the book on Cllr Penrose’s ascension in 12 months time is closed.

The area committee is different from the Mullingar Town Council despite a very similar membership, and is one of four (alongside Athlone, Coole, and Kilbeggan ) in the layers of county democracy.

Today in Castlepollard, the Coole area committee will select its latest chairman when one of Cllrs Frank McDermott, John Shaw, and Dan McCarthy will take over from Paddy Hill for the next year. ing


Page generated in 0.0798 seconds.