Search Results for 'river bank'
16 results found.
One hundred and ninety five years ago this week, the Presentation Sisters opened their convent on Presentation Road, on March 25 1819 to be precise. Some years before that, Doctor ffrench, the warden of Galway, went to Kilkenny to ask the sisters there if they could found a convent here. He had a fund for the purpose, and so, on October 27 1815, three sisters arrived to a house in Kirwan’s Lane. This building was not large enough for them and the 30 girls of the school which had been handed over to them by a committee of ladies, so they moved into a larger house on Eyre Square where they remained for three years.
William Evans of Eton (1798-1877) was the drawing master of Eton College in England and was an accomplished artist who exhibited widely in London, Dublin, and Paris. He made a number of visits to the west of Ireland in 1835 and 1838 where he produced many studies and finished watercolours, mostly of Counties Galway and Mayo, a mixture of picturesque landscapes, market and street scenes, and what might be called peasant structures and peasant portraits.
A two-year, ongoing project to complete a 5km riverside trail around the westside of Athlone will be open in time for the summer, it was revealed this week.
A man who, when drunk, interfered with the work of a doctor who was assisting an injured man, was given the benefit of the Probation Act at Ballina District Court.
A teenager who stole a load of alcohol from the Viking boat, and then had to have a doctor brought to the Garda station after consuming his booty, will have to wait until the end of November to hear his sentence, a court learnt this week (September 19).
Two people who were intoxicated in a public place in Crossmolina were both before Ballina District Court this week.
The members of Kilkenny City and County Angling Club were devastated last week to find that the river bank, life buoys and picnic tables at Threecastles has been vandalised by thugs and the trout released into the river for angling purposes had been poached.
Brook Lodge by the Owenriff River is a splendid family home that comprises five double en suite bedrooms over a floor area of 4,000sq ft. The property at Owenriff Park is an individually architect designed house in a small enclave of superior detached homes within a short walk of Lough Corrib and the centre of Oughterard. Constructed in 2001, the property has been built to a very high standard and has been tastefully decorated throughout.
I think we may get used to enjoying the simple things in life for the next few years. There’s not much money about and, even if there was, it looks as if Icelandic volcanoes mean we won’t be able to get off this little island to fly to exotic locations for the foreseeable future.
A Crossmolina man who was observed dropping cannabis resin from his pocket was before Ballina District Court this week for a possession of drugs charge.