Search Results for 'McCormack'
3 results found.
In the late 12th century, the Diocese of Annaghdown came into existence in the area surrounding the city of Galway. In 1324 it was united with Tuam, but the Anglo-Norman families refused to accept direction from Tuam. In 1484 Pope Innocent VIII made St Nicholas’ Church a Collegiate Church governed by a warden (not a bishop) and eight vicars. Edmund ffrench, the last warden, was made Bishop of Kilmacduagh in 1824. On April 27, 1831, the Bull ‘Sedium Episcopalaism’ was issued by Pope Gregory XVI erecting the Diocese of Galway. On October 23, 1831, the first Bishop of the Diocese, George Joseph Plunkett Browne, was consecrated, and in 1844 he was succeeded by Laurence O’Donnell. John McEvilly became Bishop in 1857.
For the 20th consecutive year, Cregmore National School hosted a coffee morning, cake sale and monster raffle, with all proceeds donated to St. Vincent de Paul. The event, coordinated by the pupils of 6th class, under the guidance of their teachers Ms McCormack and Mr Madden, proved to be a huge success with a large number of parents, grandparents, past pupils and friends popping into the school hall to feast on some wonderful baking and enjoy the entertainment of both the school choir and the school trad group.
THE Kilfenora Céilí Band, one of the oldest céilí bands in the world, and former Riverdance leads Michael Donnellan, Michael Gardiner, and Laura Minogue, will join forces for a show at the Town Hall Theatre.