Search Results for 'John Faherty'
4 results found.
This medieval street dates back as far as the 16th century and is believed to be one of only five medieval lanes that still exist in the city out of an original 14. It is considered by historians and archaeologists to be one of the richest areas “in terms of its medieval layout, building design and street plan”. It evidently received its name from the Kirwan family, one of only two of ‘the tribes’ who were of Gaelic origin. They were successful merchants and landowners who moved into the city around 1490, and whose wealth helped Galway reach the peak of its splendour during the 16th and 17th centuries.
In association with Skate Park for Castlebar, Finbar Hoban Presents is organising a night of music in Bar Ritz tonight (Friday) starting at 9pm. Local bands will play free of charge to help raise funds for the Castlebar skate park campaign.
An online petition with more than 40 signatures has called on Castlebar Town Council and Mayo County Council to provide a skate park for the young people of Castlebar. The organisers have pointed to the skate parks already in existence in other towns around the country. Councillor Harry Barrett has rowed in behind the campaign and is promising to bring the issue up at future town council meetings.
July 4 1929 was an important day in the history of rowing in this country, and particularly in this part of the country, because that was the day that Emmetts Rowing Club from Menlo brought the first senior eights championship trophy to Galway. Almost all the members of the crew were native Irish speakers and all lived locally and worked by the river. During a very wet spring when they could do very little farmwork, someone suggested to them that as boatmen, if they were all put into a racing eight, they would be able to take on any crew.