Search Results for 'young footballer'

19 results found.

Footballer of the year up for grabs tomorrow night

Who will pick up the coveted Mayo League Player of the Year Award, we will find out tomorrow night when the annual Mayo League Awards take place in the Welcome Inn Hotel in Castlebar. The three players shortlisted for the award are Westport United’s David Cameron, Bangor Hibs’ Brian McHale, and Conn Rangers’ man Owen McNamara.

Higgins, Boyle and O’Connor get All Star awards

For their efforts this summer three Mayo players will pick up All Star awards at tonight’s banquet. The ever reliable Keith Higgins picked up his third All Star in a row for his displays this summer after being selected in the corner back position.

Rumley and Walsh to be honoured with Henry Downes award

Next Friday night (December 6) in the Welcome Inn Hotel the Mayo League will honour the best performers of the year at its annual awards night. The league has selected teams of the year across all five divisions of the Mayo League, from the Super League to League Two, and team of the year for the Masters competitions it runs. It will also announce on the night the player of the year in each division.

Horan not ruling out O’Connor from the final

image preview

The countdown is on and Mayo’s medical team and Cillian O’Connor are doing all they can to try to get the Ballintubber ace in shape for Sunday fortnight’s showdown with Dublin. James Horan’s honest appraisal of O’Connor’s chances of making the final this week, was that he just did not know. “I don’t know is the answer. He’s with the medical team. He’s rehabbed very well, working with the physios a couple of times a day, we’re just looking to see is he a competitive option for selection. So far so good.”

Mayo head into break with plenty think about

image preview

It will be another 15 days before Mayo get back out on the field in competitive action when they take on Dublin in Croke Park on Saturday, March 2. In the coming 15 days and in the five days since they lost at the death a game they really had no right to hold the upper hand in at all, Mayo will have had plenty of time to ponder last Sunday’s events against Tyrone.

Athlone u16s crowned champions

image preview

Athlone u16 footballers put in an inspired second half performance to see off the challenge of a highly fancied Coralstown/Kinnegad side in the precursor to the senior final replay last Sunday. The blues had wind advantage in the opening half but failed to bring their shooting boots and trailed 0-4 to 0-3 at the break.

Joe Bergin always gave his best for Galway

Joe Bergin’s decision to retire from inter-county football after 13 years playing senior for the county was not a huge surprise.

Connaughton heads stateside

Westmeath goalkeeper and captain Gary Connaughton has opted to spend the remainder of the summer in the US. The decision by the long-serving custodian is a major blow to both his club Tubberclair and of course to Westmeath ahead of the qualifiers. Connaughton’s safe pair of hands, point saving ability and booming kick-out, along with his determination and experience, leave a big void to be filled at both club and county level. Tyrrellspass man Darren Quinn is set to take over the number one spot for the qualifiers.

Roscommon to relish underdog tag in u21 All-Ireland decider

image preview

Not surprisingly Roscommon will be firmly in the underdogs corner when they contest their first u21 All-Ireland decider in 30 years against a star studded Dublin side this Sunday in Tullamore. Then again this is familiar territory for Nigel Dineen’s men who have defied the odds to make it this far.

Mayo aim to put down Counihan’s rebels

In the 11 years since Mayo claimed their last national senior title, they have gone to Croke Park on four occasions in national finals only to return home empty handed and more often than not on the end of a bit of a beating. All Ireland finals in 2004 and 2006 along with league finals in 2007 and 2010 have all seen Mayo come up short on final day.

  • 1 (current)
  • 2

Page generated in 0.0452 seconds.