Search Results for 'well known businessman'

3 results found.

Protecting Edward VII - A ‘friend of the Pope’, in Connemara 1903

image preview

Pleased with his friendly reception in Dublin in 1903, His Majesty King Edward VII determined to visit the wilds of Connemara and Kerry. Such a visit presented a number of problems for Dublin Castle, not least was security at a time when nationalism was rearing its head, and seldom lost an opportunity to express itself by demostrations and protests. I learn something of these concerns from a delightful book Memories: Wise and Otherwise. by The Rt Hon Sir Henry Robinson, Bart, KCB. (Published by Cassell and Co, London, 1923). Robinson was head of the Local Government Board in Ireland, and a man, who in the tradition of Somerville and Ross, saw humour in the Irish character, and indeed in the efforts of Britain to maintain control in Ireland.

First Independent Mayo reveals election candidate shortlist

image preview

First Independent Mayo, the coalition of community groups that is planning to run an Independent candidate in Mayo in the next General Election, has unveiled its short list of seven potential candidates.

Westport mourns passing of former TD and senator

The community of Westport and beyond were shocked on Wednesday to learn of the sudden passing of former county councillor, TD, and senator Myles Staunton (75).

 

Page generated in 0.0363 seconds.