Search Results for 'present site'
4 results found.
The Augustinian Friars have been in Galway since 1508 when Margaret Athy, whose husband was mayor at the time, built a friary at Forthill, near a spring called St Augustine’s Well, the waters whereof wrought miraculous cures. In O’Flaherty’s Iar-Chonnacht, there is reproduced a document in which a miraculous cure is attested to by the signatures of several witnesses.
The Corrib Club was founded in July 1864, 150 years ago this month. Unfortunately the minutes of the club for that year and 1865 are nowhere to be found, but the late Maurice Semple, having access to minutes for most other years, produced a book entitled A Century of Minutes, the Story of the Corrib Club 1864-1966, from which we publish extracts today.
A new €4.8 million primary school was approved for Ballinasloe this week, while one approved for Coosan in 2007 is only now ready to apply for permission.
An Bord Pleanála’s refusal to grant planning permission to Meteor to retain mobile phone masts on a house in Newcastle has been hailed as a “major victory for the Newcastle community” by Labour Cllr Billy Cameron.