Search Results for 'Wolfe Tone Bridge'
36 results found.
The Middle Arch walkway between Wolfe Tone Bridge and Claddagh Quay has been shut for almost all of 2021 to date. While it is expected to reopen shortly, this green riverside space was just briefly reopened in May before it was shut again nine days later after large crowds gathered at the end of the school term, generating rubbish and noise, and causing a big headache for local residents.
Mayor Colette Connolly says she is deeply concerned that the gardaí are "failing to take action" across a wide range of "illegal and unacceptable activity" in Galway city.
IN THE final novel in his Jack Taylor series, Ken Bruen’s most famous creation meets his end on Wolfe Tone Bridge after coming into sudden contact with the wrong end of a decidedly unfriendly blade.
On a day in October 1936, a young woman, Maureen Canning, from Mohill, County Leitrim, left her digs in Lower Salthill and began to walk, for the first time, to what was then University College Galway.
Investment and not just policing is needed in communities
These two women are chatting at the doorway of a Claddagh house on Dogfish Lane c1920. The lane is cobbled, the geese and hens are pecking around, the thatch roof is perfect, there are flowers on the windowsill, everything is calm and peaceful, but what are they talking about? Could it be about piseógs, about the ‘good people’, the fairies, the banshee?
The lives of five people were saved in the city this week through the quick actions of the Galway RNLI Lifeboat crew.
The actual cutting of what we now know as The Eglinton Canal began in March 1848. It provided much needed work during the Famine. It began at the Corrib Club and entered the sea near the Claddagh Church. The filling they dug out was used to fill terraces in UCG (which was also being built at the time) and to fill in the causeway behind Claddagh Quay. The Claddagh Basin and the Claddagh Quays were constructed to cater for the 300 boats which were operating out of the Claddagh at the time.
The recent royal visit of William and Kate prompted us to dig out this photograph of Williamsgate Street taken in August 1903. It was taken just before or after King Edward VII and Queen Alexandra passed through. There were more banners and flags up while they were in the vicinity. The Royals had sailed into Killary Harbour on the royal yacht, then toured Connemara and then travelled by train to Galway. Their visit here was full of pomp and ceremony.
Fields of Athenry 10km