Search Results for 'Tully'

2 results found.

Protecting Edward VII - A ‘friend of the Pope’, in Connemara 1903

image preview

Pleased with his friendly reception in Dublin in 1903, His Majesty King Edward VII determined to visit the wilds of Connemara and Kerry. Such a visit presented a number of problems for Dublin Castle, not least was security at a time when nationalism was rearing its head, and seldom lost an opportunity to express itself by demostrations and protests. I learn something of these concerns from a delightful book Memories: Wise and Otherwise. by The Rt Hon Sir Henry Robinson, Bart, KCB. (Published by Cassell and Co, London, 1923). Robinson was head of the Local Government Board in Ireland, and a man, who in the tradition of Somerville and Ross, saw humour in the Irish character, and indeed in the efforts of Britain to maintain control in Ireland.

Unrivalled location in stunning Renvyle

image preview

Newly listed with Property Partners Maxwell Heaslip & Leonard is a stunningly beautiful holiday home situated on the wonderful Connemara Loop drive on the Renvyle peninsula. Perched in an elevated position overlooking Gorteen harbour with spectacular views over Killary Bay, this outstanding property takes full advantage of the wonderful surroundings, with wraparound windows and generous paved patio areas maximising the natural beauty of the area.

 

Page generated in 0.0421 seconds.