Search Results for 'Tom Grealy'
5 results found.
Tom Grealy, the well known Galway accountant and music aficionado, remembers as a schoolboy the day John Wayne rode into the town. In 1951 Wayne, probably the best known cowboy actor of his day, was in Cong filming The Quiet Man. The film, somewhat surprisingly, remains a world -wide favourite. More than half a century later, it is still regarded by many film makers as the ‘perfect told story’. The involvement of local people among its star studded cast, which included Maureen O’Hara, Barry Fitzgerald, Victor McLaglen, and Arthur Shields, all at the peak of their careers at the time, won their lasting affection. The occasion is still celebrated in Cong today.
With over 50 years experience in exceptional customer service, the Abbey Hotel Roscommon has a reputation as a leading wedding venue. This family-run castle manor hotel applies a very hands-on approach to every aspect of its weddings.
Rowing is a sport of endurance, strength, and finesse, a sport naturally suited to Galway where the river connects Lough Corrib with the sea. The earliest reference we have to competitive rowing on the Galway river is 1839. The first rowing club established here was the Corrib Rowing and Yachting Club in 1864 (149 years ago!) and as other clubs formed, rowing matches became more competitive. In 1868, Commercial Rowing Club was formed and the inter-club rivalry generated a lot of interest in the sport.
Roscommon’s premier wedding venue, the Abbey Hotel, had a record turnout for its eagerly anticipated wedding fair on Sunday afternoon last. The early spring sunshine brought record numbers to the venue for one of its most successful wedding fair turnouts in recent years. There were over 30 exhibitors in attendance representing all aspects of planning your special day. A wide selection of car hire, bridal and bridegroom, photographers, DJs, beauticians, hair salons, hat designers, cake, stationery, travel agents, favours, and florists were represented.
Guth na n-Óg was originally set up as a youth club in the late 1940s. Some of those involved in its setting up were Páid McNamara, Fr Fitzgibbon SJ, Tom Walsh (who worked in O’Gorman’s), Seán Kirby, Paddy Gleeson from William Street, and Ivor Kenny. Initially they used to meet in the Arus in Dominick Street but they fell foul of the authorities there because they did not speak Irish all the time, so they moved to the British Legion building on Father Griffin Road (Where Yeats College was until recently). Each member got a membership card and a badge. They used to play indoor games and have music sessions, and eventually they formed a céilí band and held a céilí every Saturday evening. They also formed a marching pipe band which thrived for a number of years.