Search Results for 'St Patricks Church'
14 results found.
In the 1920s a family named Healy from College Road built three houses on Forster Street. The owner of the first house (next door to Harry Clare’s stonemason’s yard) was a Jewish man named Isaac. He did piano repairs and his daughter was an opera singer. He worked from a shed at the back of the house. In the 1930s he sold the house to John McDonagh from Glann near Oughterard, who was married to Mary Anne Spellman from Fermoyle. They opened a grocery shop and a lending library.
Achill Island RNLI has paid tribute to fellow lifeboat volunteer and friend Mattie Stafford, of Slievemore, following his untimely death.
The Square appears as a green piece of land outside the city walls on the early maps of Galway. The 1651 map shows it more or less in the shape it is today. In 1710, Edward Eyre (whose family had come over with the Cromwellians) became mayor of the city. He lived in a house roughly where the Meyrick Hotel is today and the patch of land in front of his house was known as ‘The Mayor’s Garden’. He presented it to the city and it became known as Eyre Square
The presentation of a representation of the wooden travel box in which circa 137 Mayo workhouse orphan girls’ carried their possessions to Australia in 1848-50, and the unveiling of a quilt bearing their names, will feature as part of four days of The Great Famine Remembrance, which take place in Ballina from Tuesday October 16 to Friday October 19.
An investigation has been launched after an Inver man died when his boat capsized off the north Mayo coast earlier this week.
Tomorrow is St Patrick's Day and throughout the county, community groups and organisations are busy putting the final preparations to a busy weekend of fun and activities. We have put together the details of some of the parades and events taking place around the county this weekend.
A new car park is to be developed at St Patrick’s Church in Ballina if approval is granted by Mayo County Council.
This photograph, taken from an old glass slide, shows some important personage in an escorted carriage leaving the Great Southern Hotel. There are some mounted liveried gentlemen in front and two RIC men on horseback behind the carriage, which is hidden by the RIC men. You can see a policeman on foot to the right of our picture.
A grotto is a natural or artificial cave used by humans in modern times and antiquity. Today, they are often used as shrines in which to place statues of saints, particularly the Virgin Mary. The Grotto of Our Lady of Lourdes stood in the southwest corner of the grounds of St Patrick’s Church.
Western Care Association is delighted to be hosting Michael English and his band for an intimate evening of music and song in the beautiful St Patrick’s Church, Ballyhaunis this evening. Michael is currently going from strength to strength on the Irish country music scene, for both his dances and concerts and is one of the most popular artists at the moment.