Search Results for 'Sacred Heart Secondary School'

4 results found.

Student’s speech skills on national stage

Ballyhaunis student Rachel Lyons and Westport’s Sarah Murphy certainly have a way with words.

Four Mayo men cut the grade in the best of the last five years

image preview

The recent success of Mayo football at u21 level was recognised this week with four Mayo players making the cut and being named among the best 15 players to have played in the u21 championship over the past five years since 2005. Those who made the grade were Keith Higgins, who captained Mayo to their All Ireland u21 championship success in 2006, Pearse Hanley, Aidan O’Shea, and Tom Parsons. In the time period for selection Mayo won four Connacht titles in a row from 2006 to 2009 and an All Ireland title in 2006 all under the guidance of the management team of Pat Holmes, Noel Connelly, and Mícheál Collins. In 2010, Ray Dempsey took over the team and brought them to a Connacht final where they were narrowly beaten by Roscommon in the final.

Huge interest in Town of Tomorrow competition

Interest in the 2009 Town of Tomorrow competition – which has been extended this year to include a category for students of the GMIT in Castlebar – has been phenomenal, with 49 entries received from budding architects, designers, and planners, and those who simply have wild imaginations.

Two Mayo students awarded Bank of Ireland scholarships for third-level education

Bank of Ireland has announced that it has awarded 87 new scholarships for third level education. Valued at over €1m, these scholarships allow students who face economic, social, or physical barriers an opportunity to access third level education. This year’s successful applicants included two talented Mayo students — Stephen Smyth, Ballina and Mairead McGowan, Newport — who received their awards from Richie Boucher, group chief executive, Bank of Ireland.


Page generated in 0.0495 seconds.