Search Results for 'Patrick Heneghan'
3 results found.
The first unit of the Order of Malta in Galway began in 1937 when Dr Conor O’Malley was asked by the Marquis McSweeney, the then chancellor of the Irish Association, to recruit members to form an ambulance corps aimed initially at Connacht only.
The Bloomfield House has a very colourful history, having originally been used as a romantic dower house to celebrate the marriage of Dora Bloomfield to George Rochfort, second Earl of Belvedere. In 1932, the Bloomfield property was donated to the Missionary Franciscan Nuns. The sisters accepted this gracious donation and set up a convent and school at Bloomfield, which they held until 1979.
An Irish American fund has generously donated monies to help develop learning facilities at Mayo schools.