Search Results for 'Patrician Brothers'
4 results found.
On this day, January 15 in the year 1827, the Patrician Brothers arrived in Galway for the first time. Brothers Paul O’Connor and James Walsh took up residence in the Charity Free School in Lombard Street. Three hundred boys attended that day. This school for the poor was originally founded in 1790 in Back Street (now St Augustine Street). In 1824 it transferred to the Lombard Street barracks which had been built in 1749, and purchased from the government by Warden French in 1823. It had been a struggle to keep the school going so the Patricians were invited to take it over and manage it. The barracks formed three sides of a square, the Brothers lived in one wing and the school occupied another. It had one large room on the ground floor and one large room overhead.
A special celebration dinner to mark the 150th anniverary of the opening of St Joseph’s Patrician College (The Bish) will take place on Saturday October 13 at the Ardilaun Hotel, Taylors Hill.
A former head of religious education at St Joseph’s (the Bish) is the new principal of the Nuns’ Island based boys’ secondary school.
The Patrician Congregation is mourning one of “nature’s finest gentlemen,” the late Brother Fidelis James O’Connell.