Search Results for 'Mary Gavin'

4 results found.

The Presentation Sisters, 200 years in Galway

image preview

In 1815, the warden of Galway Dr French went to Kilkenny to ask sisters of the Presentation Order to return with him to Galway to found a convent here. A Reverend Bartholomew Burke has left a fund of £4,800 for the purpose. Three sisters arrived here in October of that year. They moved into a house in Kirwan’s Lane temporarily, and from there to Eyre Square. On March 25th, 1819, they moved to a house in poor condition that had originally been built as a Charter School and which would become known as the Presentation Convent. The following year they opened their school adjacent to the convent.

Calling all ‘Pres’ past pupils

image preview

Two hundred years ago (on October 27 1815) the first Presentation Sisters came to Galway and founded the first Catholic schools for girls in the city. They moved in to Kirwan’s Lane, then to Eyre Square for three years, before settling into a vacant house in the suburbs, which has been known as the Presentation Convent ever since.

Book launch in Castlebar Library

To celebrate the 21st anniversary of the opening of Castlebar Library a book entitled Mayo Libraries: Memories, Tales and Anecdotes, by Mary Gavin will be launched by Liamy McNally on November 14 at 8pm.

Book launch in Castlebar Library

To celebrate the 21st anniversary of the opening of Castlebar Library a book entitled Mayo Libraries: Memories, Tales & Anecdotes, by Mary Gavin will be launched by Liamy McNally on November 14 at 8pm.

 

Page generated in 0.0422 seconds.