Search Results for 'Margaret Flanagan'
2 results found.
In 1815, the warden of Galway Dr French went to Kilkenny to ask sisters of the Presentation Order to return with him to Galway to found a convent here. A Reverend Bartholomew Burke has left a fund of £4,800 for the purpose. Three sisters arrived here in October of that year. They moved into a house in Kirwan’s Lane temporarily, and from there to Eyre Square. On March 25th, 1819, they moved to a house in poor condition that had originally been built as a Charter School and which would become known as the Presentation Convent. The following year they opened their school adjacent to the convent.
Headford’s musical family, the Cunninghams, will being their Home For Christmas charity show to Campbell’s Tavern, Cloughanover, tomorrow at 9pm.