Search Results for 'Margaret Athy'
7 results found.
No 3 Renville Village is a large detached four bedroom home offering excellent space in a popular location beside Galway Bay. Constructed circa 1995, the property is part of an exclusive development beside Galway Bay Golf Club Resort and Renville Park.
It is often said that one cannot claim to be a true ‘old Galwegian’ or ‘auld shtock’ unless one has some relations buried in Forthill Cemetery at Lough Atalia. It is probably the oldest cemetery in Galway. The Augustinians have been associated with it since the year 1500. The Augustinian convent or priory was built there by Margaret Athy at the request of a friar, Richard Nagle, and it probably stood on level ground at the upper level of Forthill. The grounds of the priory extended quite a bit along the shores of Lough Atalia, at least to the site where St Augustine’s Well is today. Nothing at all remains of the priory except some drawings on the 1625 and 1651 maps.
Galway Bay Hotel, Salthill was recently announced overall second place winner in the Best Customer Service category by Galway Chamber Business Awards.
Sherry FitzGerald welcomes this substantial detached family residence at Bothar na Greine, Barna, to the market for sale by private treaty. This property is on a 0.86 acre site of well planned established gardens overlooking Galway Bay. Architect designed by Simon J Kelly architects and built in 1998, the residence offers extensive accommodation and takes full advantage of the site and natural features particularly views, aspect, light, and sun.
Enjoy top quality seafood at Padraicins in Spiddal, with gorgeous views of Galway Bay.
The Augustinian Friars have been in Galway since 1508 when Margaret Athy, whose husband was mayor at the time, built a friary at Forthill, near a spring called St Augustine’s Well, the waters whereof wrought miraculous cures. In O’Flaherty’s Iar-Chonnacht, there is reproduced a document in which a miraculous cure is attested to by the signatures of several witnesses.
The Augustinians have been associated with Galway since the year 1500. Their first convent, or priory, was built on Fort Hill between 1506 and 1508. Its patroness was Margaret Athy who was the wife of the then mayor, Stephen Lynch. He sailed for Spain in search of a cargo of rich wines, and when he returned, he was astonished to see the graceful outline of a new church, with tower and tapering spire, on the elevated promontory that was Fort Hill. Not one stone of it had been laid when he left the city.