Search Results for 'Legion of Mary'
8 results found.
On this day, July 31, in 1863, “The new Church of St Ignatius on the Sea Road in the vicinity of the city was dedicated by the Most Rev Dr McEvilly, Lord Bishop of Galway. Sea Road is one of the most fashionable and frequented thoroughfares in the suburbs of our city. The Church, which was commenced in 1861, is now complete with the exception of the organ, altar and some minor internal decorations; and we have no doubt the zeal of the faithful will only require such a desirable opportunity of enabling the Jesuit Fathers, whose excellent judgement in these matters is fully acknowledged, to complete the required improvements, and that nothing shall be wanted which the good taste of the architect can suggest to make everything perfect. The Church is built of hammered limestone ashlar work in courses. The south gable, or principal front, the spire and the quoins, dressings etc, being finely punched and the depths of the jambs and arches of the principal doors and windows, which are richly moulded, adds greatly to its appearance. The Church, which is Gothic in style, is in the form of a Latin Cross, 115 feet in extreme length, 36 feet wide and 70 feet across the transepts, 56 to the ridge and 110 to the top of the spire”.
The Magdalen Asylum in Galway was founded in 1824 by a private person, Ms Lynch, and was managed by a society known as the Association of Ladies of the Saint Magdalen Society. At the request of the founder, the Sisters of Mercy became responsible for the operation of the institution following her death in 1845. The laundry and living quarters were separate from the convent/mother house in Galway. The living quarters included three dormitories, a kitchen, dining room, infirmary, recreation room, and a chapel. There was also a farm across the road.
There are no reliable figures for the numbers of women sent to the Magdalene Laundry in Galway as the McAleese Report reveals blank or missing records, but strong hints it was one of the few in the State operating on an economic surplus.
The Legion of Mary, which is celebrating 90 years’ service, are holding its annual dinner and social in Hotel Westport on Sunday December 4 from 2pm to 6pm.
Betty Killeen (nee Noone), Lower James Street, Claremorris, whose sudden death occurred on January 13, was one of the town’s best-known figures. She commanded popularity from people of all ages, and the esteem in which she was held was evidenced by the extraordinary numbers who turned out to pay their final respects at the funeral ceremonies.
Tipperary playwright Paul Maher’s new play, Pray for us Sinners will receive a local airing when the travelling Fionn Mac Cumhaill Players bring their tour to Kilkenny’s Watergate Theatre next month.
The words of the song come to mind when contemplating Nell Leahy’s word pictures of a past that has virtually disappeared.
The passing of Eddie Mackey, 44 Michael Street, Kilkenny, after a long illness borne with great courage, brought immense sorrow to his wife Mary and his many friends and relations.