Search Results for 'Joe Togher'
7 results found.
The organiser of the recent Saddle Up For Epilepsy Cycle, Brenda Quigg from Breaffy, says the event was a huge success and issued a heartfelt thanks to all of those who supported the cycle.
It is that time of year again when Mayo Leisure Point runs the inter-business bowling league. This league has been running for the past 20 years and has proven very successful with businesses all over Mayo competing. Its success is thanks to the businesses and teams which support it every year and to Sean Mulroy and Joe Togher who have sponsored the league since 1994.
Most of the area seen in this photograph was once part of a grant of land to Edward Eyre in 1670. It was all originally outside the city walls and was mostly made up of three islands which included St Stephen’s Island and Horse Island.
Togher Tyres are celebrating 25 years in business this year, during which time they have amassed a wealth of knowledge and experience which can contribute immensely to motorists’ everyday safety.
Joe Togher was born in Headford on September 8, 1898. His father was a shopkeeper and his mother was from Carlow, and they had three more sons and a daughter. His father died when he was very young, so in 1910 his mother moved the family into Francis Street in Galway where she opened a small hotel (see photograph) to support them. She was very busy with the business so it was Joe’s sister Nell who looked after him. He went to ‘The Mon’ where a nationalistic Brother Leo was a major influence. Joe was a good oarsman, a champion sculler.
It’s that time of year again when Mayo Roller Bowl runs the Inter Business League. This league has been running for the past 15 years and has proved very successful with businesses all over Mayo, Galway, and Sligo. This year, as in other years, the league is being sponsored by Sean Mulroy, Mulroy’s Topaz Stations, and Joe Togher, Togher Tyres.
During the Black and Tan era, it was difficult for the IRA to be overtly active in Galway City because it was so heavily garrisoned. Renmore Barracks which was the headquarters of the Connaught Rangers, was occupied by the Sherwood Foresters, more of whom were based in Oranmore: There was a large detachment of the 17th lancers at Earl’s Island: The Auxiliaries had a Company in Lenaboy Castle: And, between the barracks in Eglinton St., two more barracks in Dominick St and many private houses which had been commandeered, there were some 500 men. In addition there were, at varying times, a number of troops camped near Galway.