Search Results for 'James Walsh'
6 results found.
A formal collaboration is to take place between CÚRAM, the Science Foundation Ireland Centre for Research in Medical Devices at NUI Galway, and Rutgers University, New Jersey, regarding complementary medical device programmes.
The establishment by the Patrician Brothers of a school for boys would have a fundamental influence on education in Galway for about 130 years. The school was set up by Brothers Paul O’Connor and James Walsh on a site belonging to the Charity Free School which was formerly an army barracks, and it opened in January 1827. Three hundred boys attended on that day. The total funding available to the school was the sum of one shilling.
They survived the loss of their inspirational full back Kevin Keane after just ten minutes, then lost their goalkeeper Patrick O’Malley to a black card with six minutes to go and conceded a penalty, which was converted and saw their lead pared back to three points, then two points and then one point as six agonising minutes of injury time seemed to take an age to tick by, but when the full time whistle was blown, the warriors from Westport were All Ireland intermediate champions.
It all began for Westport last May in Sean Duffy Park in Ardnaree, where they just about had enough to see off the challenge of the north Mayo men who themselves were only coming down from their own All Ireland adventure and on Sunday, it'll come to a conclusion in Croke Park, what a ten months it has been for Westport. They've moved on from their narrow 0-15 to 2-7 win over Ardnaree, to within 60 minutes of All Ireland final glory if they can get over Meath and Leinster champions, St Colmcille's.
This photograph is part of the Clonbrock Collection in the National Library, and was taken from the tower of St Nicholas’ Church in 1880, looking over Market Street. This panoramic view extends as far as the river. The chimney you see on the horizon was that of Persse’s Distillery. In the distance (you probably will not be able to see it in this reproduction) is the Clifden railway embankment running along the river bank. The building that is now the County Club is near the top left of the picture, the tower of the Mercy Convent near the top right.
An air of excitement and anticipation is gathering in many households as teams and individuals from Mayo Community Games put their final preparations together for the forthcoming Community Games National Festival of Finals which take place in Athlone IT, over the next two weekends. This festival will host some 9,000 participants and the green and red of Mayo Community Games will be strongly represented with 286 competitors making the journey east to Athlone.