Search Results for 'Forthill Cemetery'
4 results found.
For many decades, Galway city has been recognised as a place that is welcoming of its visiting tourists and to all those who come to secure work or to study. Over the past three decades, the NUIG student population has doubled from 9,000 in the early 1980s to more than 18,000 today.
It is often said that one cannot claim to be a true ‘old Galwegian’ or ‘auld shtock’ unless one has some relations buried in Forthill Cemetery at Lough Atalia. It is probably the oldest cemetery in Galway. The Augustinians have been associated with it since the year 1500. The Augustinian convent or priory was built there by Margaret Athy at the request of a friar, Richard Nagle, and it probably stood on level ground at the upper level of Forthill. The grounds of the priory extended quite a bit along the shores of Lough Atalia, at least to the site where St Augustine’s Well is today. Nothing at all remains of the priory except some drawings on the 1625 and 1651 maps.
An interesting number of medical institutions were established in Galway in the 20th century. In 1908 the Port Sanitary Intercepting Hospital was built near the docks opposite Forthill Cemetery as quarantine for any suspected cases of cholera or smallpox that might have come in on board ship. It cost £1,000, had 20 beds, and happily it was never needed for its primary purpose and only ever housed three patients. It burnt down in 1966.
Cathy Killeen won the Galway City Council Volunteer of the Year award, at the 13th Annual Mayor’s Awards for Galway City, for her long involvement with the Castlegar/Menlo Foróige club.