Search Results for 'Corrib club'
3 results found.
New boys Oughterard face the daunting challenge of squaring up to Corofin in this season's shortened senior football championship, but it is a task the Corrib club is relishing.
The actual cutting of what we now know as The Eglinton Canal began in March 1848. It provided much needed work during the Famine. It began at the Corrib Club and entered the sea near the Claddagh Church. The filling they dug out was used to fill terraces in UCG (which was also being built at the time) and to fill in the causeway behind Claddagh Quay. The Claddagh Basin and the Claddagh Quays were constructed to cater for the 300 boats which were operating out of the Claddagh at the time.
Micheal Breathnach 1-16