Search Results for 'Bishop'
217 results found.
Around the year 1890, this four storey building at the top of Prospect Hill was derelict. It was bought by the Sisters of Mercy and used by them as a ‘House of Mercy’, a training centre for girls. The nuns called it St Patrick’s House but their scheme failed due to lack of finance and staffing problems, so they let the building out on rent.
The ladies and children’s bathing pools in Salthill were blessed by Canon Davis in 1930. These were two linked tidal pools which filled up when the tide came in and emptied when the tide went out. The floors were of sand so they were a perfect playground for children even when they had dried out. Thousands of children and adults learned how to swim there with Jimmy Cranny of Galway Swimming Club and Christy Dooley of Blackrock Swimming Club teaching organised groups on alternate evenings throughout the summer.
Galway City and County gaols were built at the beginning of the 19th century on a large site which took up most of Nuns Island. Construction was conditional on a right of way, the road all around the walls, also being built. James Hardiman, the historian, described it as follows: “The Prison …. Is built in the form of a crescent …. The interior of which is divided into eight wards ….. separated by walls which form so many radii of a circle, and, terminating in the rear of the governor’s house, bringing the whole range within many of his windows, by which means he can, at a single glance, survey the entire.”
During 2020 Pieta delivered over 52,000 hours of intervention and bereavement counselling, answered over 70,000 crisis support calls and texts and directly supported over 600 households impacted and bereaved by suicide.
Last year, Pieta delivered over 52,000 hours of intervention and bereavement counselling, answered over 70,000 crisis support calls and texts and directly supported over 600 households impacted and bereaved by suicide.
At early Mass on Christmas morning 1842, there was a dreadful accident at Galway’s Pro-Cathedral during which 37 people were killed, and many more were injured. Known as the Parish Church, and completed just twenty-one years before, it was by far the largest Catholic church in the town, surprisingly built in preCatholic Emancipation times.
Galway writers are strongly represented in a new book outlining the experiences of twenty five people during this pandemic year.
As Christmas approaches there are many members of our community in need of help. Covid-19 regulations have, in common with many others, restricted some of our fund-raising efforts. However, this will not stop us attempting to fill the void, as the need does not disappear and we remain very conscious of peoples’ situations during the current pandemic. Our aim remains: provide Christmas vouchers to over 400 in need families/individuals, who are identified in collaboration with SVP, Simon and Social Services Staff. We also will be fundraising for various projects that we run during the year.
A programme of Commemorative events has been organised to commemorate the centenary of the murder of Fr Michael Griffin during the War of Independence.
Michael Joseph Griffin was born on September 18, 1892, in Gurteen in east Galway, one of five children of Thomas Griffin and Mary Kyne. He was educated locally, then in St Joseph’s College, Ballinasloe, and finally in Maynooth. He was ordained in April 1917 and was seconded to the Galway diocese. He worked for a year in Ennistymon and in June 1918 was transferred to the parish of Rahoon which stretched from the river out to Furbo and Corcullen. He developed a great rapport with the children of the parish, spoke in Irish to young and old, organised feiseanna, currach races, and donkey races on Silver Strand.