Galway flush with top poker in January

Europe’s first major poker event of 2009 will be held in Galway with coverage on RTE.

The PartyPoker Irish Poker Championship, takes place from January 2 to 5 at the Radisson SAS Hotel in Galway, and will see Galway’s Jude Ainsworth defend his title.

The event is organised by, with the coverage produced by Winmedia Ireland Ltd.

Ian Langstaff of Winmedia Ireland Ltd said, “We are delighted to be producing and transmitting coverage of the PartyPoker Irish Poker Championship on RTÉ again this year. The fact that RTÉ are transmitting eight episodes of coverage rather than the six they did last year shows the popularity of the IPC.”

The PartyPoker Irish Poker Championship will see the likes of Donnacha O’Dea, Marty Smyth, Padraig Parkinson, Scott Gray, Ciaran O’Leary, Premier League II winner Andy Black, Dave Callaghan, Tony Cascarino, Liam Flood, Rory Liffey and last year’s champion Jude Ainsworth.

There will also be a big international contingent heading to Galway in search of victory including ‘Ambassador of Poker’ Mike Sexton, Kenna James, Dave “Devilfish” Ulliott, Benjamin Kang, Surinder Sunar, Mad ‘Marty’ Wilson, Mickey Wernick, Alan Vinson and 2008 Irish Open champion Neil Channing. France will be represented by Claude Cohen and Veronique Gourdon, while Spain’s challenge is led by Leo Margets and PartyPoker Women’s World Open II star May Maceiras.


Page generated in 0.0553 seconds.