Search Results for 'Michael Browne'

14 results found.

The Abbey Church

image preview

In the year 1296, Uilliam Liath De Burgo started to build a monastery for the Franciscans on a site roughly where the Courthouse is today. It became known as “St Francis’ Abbey on the island of Saint Stephen on the north side of the town”. The island was formed by the river on the west side, and by a branch of the river running through what is Woodquay and Mary Street today, to join the main stream above O’Brien’s Bridge. A second and smaller island lay between St Stephen’s and the town wall, so in order to communicate with the town, two bridges were necessary, one at the junction of Mary Street and Abbeygate Street and the other at the Little Gate.

The Abbey Church

image preview

In the year 1296, Uilliam Liath De Burgo started to build a monastery for the Franciscans on a site roughly where the Courthouse is today. It became known as “St Francis’ Abbey on the island of Saint Stephen on the north side of the town”. The island was formed by the river on the west side, and by a branch of the river running through what is Woodquay and Mary Street today, to join the main stream above O’Brien’s Bridge. A second and smaller island lay between St Stephen’s and the town wall, so in order to communicate with the town, two bridges were necessary, one at the junction of Mary Street and Abbeygate Street and the other at the Little Gate.

Calling all graduates of St Patrick’s National School

image preview

On April 1, 1954, 941 boys marched from the Bish National School, Nuns’ Island, and from the Old Mon in Market Street to their ultra-modern bright new school, St Patrick’s, which was situated at the corner of Lombard Street and Bridge Street. The new school was built on a site which had been the location of the Shambles Barracks, which was occupied by the British army for many years up until 1909.

A ‘strange, wonderful bond’ between Ireland and Hungary

image preview

Week III

A ‘strange, wonderful bond’ between Ireland and Hungary

image preview

Week III

Francis Corbett in his studio

image preview

Francis Corbett was a member of the well known business family who owned Corbett and Sons in Williamsgate Street. He was one of five siblings, one of whom, Gerard, went into the business. Francis also worked there but only for a short time, as he died relatively young in 1946. He was a talented artist, as were his brother Redmond and his sisters Lucy and Agnes. Francis was one of the founders of the Galway Art Club, and became its first treasurer.

Papal visit announcement to coincide with installation of new Bishop of Galway

image preview

The ceremonial installation of Bishop Brendan Kelly as Bishop of Galway is expected to coincide with the official announcement of the papal visit by Pope Francis to Ireland.

Mellows aiming for first senior title in forty-seven years

image preview

Ray Silke

More balanced Gort see off Craughwell to qualify for county final

On a cold and squally day in Kenny Park, Gort and Craughwell produced an enjoyable game of hurling - one that was far superior to the drawn encounter seven days previously.

While Europe prepares for war, Galway dances the Lindy Hop!

Charles Lindberg made his famous non-stop flight from the US to Europe in May 1927. A young pilot of 25 years, he flew from New York to Paris, on a plane christened The Spirit of St Louis, and his achievement was celebrated across the world. Even on the dance floor!

  • 1 (current)
  • 2
 

Page generated in 0.0423 seconds.