Search Results for 'Menlo Castle'
9 results found.
DNG Maxwell Heaslip & Leonard presents to the market this lovely three bed detached property located at the edge of the city. No 6 Lakewood Park is a beautifully presented home, tucked away in a quiet leafy cul de sac only 2.6km from the city centre. Lakewood offers spectacular uninterrupted views of both Lough Corrib and Menlo Castle.
City ring road not 'silver bullet' to solve traffic crisis, but still 'significant step forward' says Kyne
The Galway City Ring road is not the "silver bullet" that will solve the transport challenges facing Galway, but it will "take traffic out of the city", enable public transport improvements, and "reduce the time" workers and visitors spend getting around the city.
Sherry FitzGerald is offering this architecturally designed detached home to the market for sale by private treaty. Aillebrack provides a rare opportunity to acquire a high calibre residence in a popular area benefiting from peaceful countryside serenity yet only minutes from the vibrant cobbled streets of Galway city centre. This Sean Dockery architecturally designed dwelling offers approximately 344sq m (3,700sq ft) of living space on a circa 0.28ha (0.69 acre) landscaped site.
The Commercial Rowing Club was set up in May 1875. The Corrib Rowing and Yachting Club had been in existence since 1864, but as it was the only such club on the river, there was a distinct lack of competition for its oarsmen. Commercial provided that competition.
Galway native Gerald Lawless is to be rewarded for his sterling work for his contribution toward the Irish diaspora worldwide when he receives the Presidential Distinguished Service Award for the Irish Abroad for 2016.
Dangan House, “beautifully situated on the banks of the fine river Corrib” directly opposite Menlo Castle, was built in 1684 as the seat of the Martin family. ‘Humanity Dick’ Martin was brought up there. John Redington purchased Dangan Demesne from Anthony Martin about 1830 and became the proprietor of the townland. It was, for a short time afterwards, converted into an Ursuline Convent. The nuns were there from 1839 to 1844. Dangan House was left to the Board of Guardians of the Galway Union for an auxiliary workhouse until 1854. The only trace of the original Martin building today is the tea-house folly which is on the banks of the river. A nearby property known as Dangan Cottage was leased by a number of American artists in the 1870s but was described as a ruin in the 1890s.
Dangan native Gerald Lawless was this week named as the new chairman of the World Travel and Tourism Council.
One hundred and sixty eight years ago this week, on March 8, work started on the cutting of what we know as the Eglinton Canal. There had been previous attempts to open a passage from the river to the sea. As far back as 1498, the then mayor had a plan to connect the Sandy River with Lough Athalia. It was Alexander Nimmo who first mooted the idea of a canal in 1822. If steamboats could travel from the docks to the Corrib, it would greatly enhance the commercial importance of the city and a valuable connection with the hinterland would be established. His original plan was that this connection would start at the top of Woodquay, where McSwiggan’s is today, go along Eglinton Street and down the west side of Eyre Square to the docks. The cost proved to be prohibitive and there were a lot of objections from people who owned land or a business along the route.
NUI Galway Senior Lecturer, boards.ie/adverts.ie Co-Founder, Startup Advisor, ACE Fitness/WestBIC Boards