Search Results for 'Lenaboy Castle'

13 results found.

Madden’s Nurseries

image preview

Michael Madden came to Taylor’s Hill from the Ballinasloe area c1898. His family had been in the nursery business there since the 1830s, and in Laurencetown before that again. He leased the land in Taylor’s Hill from Colonel Courtney. In 1902, his brother James and his wife Elizabeth came to live there also, and a few years later, on Michael’s death, they took over the running of the nurseries.

Madden’s Nurseries

image preview

Michael Madden came to Taylor’s Hill from the Ballinasloe area c1898. His family had been in the nursery business there since the 1830s, and in Laurencetown before that again. He leased the land in Taylor’s Hill from Colonel Courtney. In 1902, his brother James and his wife Elizabeth came to live there also, and a few years later, on Michael’s death, they took over the running of the nurseries.

St Anne’s at Lenaboy Castle had none of the characteristics of an institution, says former clinical director

image preview

Clinical Director in Child Psychiatry 1975-2002

Let imagination run free where it was once stymied

image preview

The news this week that Lenaboy Castle has been handed over to the city by the Sisters of Mercy, along with a €750,000 stipend to kickstart its refurbishment, is to be welcomed.

Consult survivors of children’s home before it becomes creative hub, says TD

image preview

The transfer of ownership of the former St Anne’s Children’s Home in Lenaboy Castle, at Taylor’s Hill, from the Sisters of Mercy to the Galway City Council, has been agreed. However, there have been calls for an increased level of consultation with the people who resided there when it was a children’s home so that the sensitive history of the building can be recognised in its new use.

Mayor happy with level of decision making at first meeting of the season

The new Council season commenced this week with some significant and positive announcements, not least of which is the acquisition of the new Childrens Cultural Hub at Lenaboy Castle (St Annes), Taylors Hill. I am delighted to preside as Mayor over this great news story for both the children of Galway and the cultural sector.

Former children's home to become children's creative hub

image preview

The transfer of ownership of the former St Anne’s Children’s Home in Lenaboy Castle, at Taylor’s Hill, from the Sisters of Mercy to the Galway City Council, has been agreed.

St Anne’s Orphanage

image preview

St Anne’s was situated in Lenaboy Castle on Taylor’s Hill. The old part of that building dates from the early 18th century. The house, which was situated on 63 acres of land, belonged to Colonel James O’Hara who was, in 1885, chairman of the town commissioners, and who founded a number of Galway industries. A lane led from the house to the gate of the estate which was beside where the Warwick Hotel is today.

Old Devon Park

image preview

The area we know today as Devon Park was originally part of the O’Hara Estate which was the land around Lenaboy Castle (now St Anne’s on Taylor’s Hill). The main gates to this estate were, and are, next door to the Warwick Hotel. Part of the estate wall ran along the main Salthill road.

Beautiful mid-terrace home steeped in history

image preview

Sherry FitzGerald welcomes No 2 Ruttledge Terrace to the market for sale by private treaty. No 2 Ruttledge Terrace, Salthill, is a four bed mid-terrace home built in the early 1900s and steeped in history. Ruttledge Terrace was acquired by Michael F Joyce in 1913, and the row of five terrace houses was built between 1913 and 1924. Michael Joyce sold No 2 to the Doyle family, and the property has remained in the family for generations.

  • 1 (current)
  • 2
 

Page generated in 0.0445 seconds.