Search Results for 'Ein Concannon'
8 results found.
This photograph of ‘The Green Grass’, also known as ‘The Big Grass’, in The Claddagh was taken on July 29, 1914. It was taken from roughly where the Claddagh Hall is today. There was a wide expanse of grass off to the left towards where South Park is today. In the early days parts of it were tidal, the tide would come in here in the form of a series of streams. In Peadar O’Dowd’s wonderful book Down By The Claddagh, there is an image of this area with a very large stream in the foreground. These streams were gradually filled in, thus creating the kind of surface we see in the photograph. There were occasional sandy patches visible on the grass.
In 1812, there were 468 cabins or houses, all thatched, in The Claddagh. These were occupied by 50 families, totalling 1,050 males and 1,286 females. That was a lot of people and houses in a relatively small geographical area and could be described as a “clachan”, a large irregular group of houses clustered closely together. All of these houses were single storey buildings, only the two-storeyed Aran View House and the early 19th century coastguard houses were higher.
A queue outside 6 St Dominick's Road, the Claddagh on Saturday gave some indication of the interest Colleran Auctioneers have in this beautiful bungalow. Described by many as a real gem, this three bedroom, end of terrace bungalow was totally reconstructed and extended only 12 years ago to a very high standard, which is immediately obvious on viewing.
“The only occupation is fishing; they never trouble themselves with tillage; a milch cow and a potatoe garden are rare among them ------, then on shore they are principally employed in attending to, and repairing their boats, sails, rigging, cordage etc .., and in making, drying or repairing their nets and spillets, in which latter employment they are generally assisted by the women who spin hemp and yarn for the nets ....
On Christmas Day, at 2.30p.m. a traditional Latin Mass will be celebrated in St. Mary’s Church, the Claddagh, Galway.
John Quinn auctioneers is offering No 1 Upper Fairhill Road for auction on August 17. The company will hold an open viewing at the property this Saturday July 30 from 1pm to 2pm.
Demands are being made for a new boom to trap and contain litter and grease gathering in the Claddagh Basin, which has the potential to harm human health and boat engines.
“With its old houses — straw for their roofs and rock and mortar for their walls, and every little end of a wall whitewashed a hundred times in blue or white or thin pink — the Claddagh was lovely, and from a distance it did the eye good. It was quaint, of course, but also a home-like little village; it had sand for its walks and a turfy marlish stuff for its floors, and always curls of smoke from its square low chimneys.