Search Results for 'Clonfert'

2 results found.

What the so called ‘empty frame’ may have looked like...

image preview

Last month Galway Diary explored the sham legend that grew around the so-called ‘Empty frame’ on the wall of the Lynch’s Chapel, or Lady’s chapel, in the historic St Nicholas’ Collegiate church. The late Canon George Quinn pronounced that this was the very frame in which the Bishop of Clonfert, Walter Lynch’s sacred icon of the Madonna and Child once hung, before he was forced to flee just before the arrival of Cromwell’s soldiers in April 1652.

Public lecture on Clonfert monastery

The history of Clonfert, from its foundation as a monastic site in the sixth century to its decline in the 17th century, will be the subject of a public lecture in Galway.

 

Page generated in 0.0414 seconds.